Planet Rugby

Preview: ITM Cup, Sunday

12th August 2011 22:14


Robbie Fruean Canterbury

Canterbury: Need a big win

Canterbury tackle Northland in Sunday's ITM Cup match at Rugby Park in Christchurch, where the hosts will be out to bag maximum points.

After sinking to fourth place on the Premiership standings following the defending champion's loss to Waikato, Canterbury will look to put their season back on track against championship side Northland.

It's been an inconsistent season for the men in red and black, who have only won one out of their four Premiership matches. However, they have picked up maximum points against Championship teams so far and Sunday's visitors do not have a good record at Christchurch.

The Taniwah are coming off a big thumping to Wellington, but had knocked off Otago as well as Bay of Plenty before they crashed in the last round of ITM Cup action.

In team news, Nepo Laulala and Ben Funnell will make their first start for Canterbury. Other changes from the team that played against Waikato this week include Ryan Crotty and Johnny McNicholl returning to the starting line-up.

Sean Maitland (ankle) and Luke Katene were not considered for Canterbury due to injury.

Meanwhile, Northland's matchday squad is unchanged.

The last time these two teams played each other, Canterbury prevailed 23-27 in Whangarei.

The teams:

Canterbury: 15 Johnny McNicholl, 14 Telusa Veainu, 13 Robbie Fruean, 12 Ryan Crotty, 11 Patrick Osborne, 10 Tyler Bleyendaal, 9 Willi Heinz, 8 Nasi Manu,7 Matt Todd, 6 George Whitelock (c), 5 Ash Parker, 4 Luke Romano, 3 Nepo Laulala,2 Ben Funnell, 1 Andrew Olorenshaw,
Replacements: 16 Paul Ngauamo, 17 Joe Moody, 18 Joel Everson, 19 Brendon O'Connor, 20 Mark Swanepoel, 21 Tom Taylor, 22 Rhys Llewellyn, 23 Paea Fa'anunu.

Northland: 1. Justin Davies, 2. Ross Wright, 3. Scott Vessey, 4. Bryce Williams, 5. Mark Burman, 6. Cameron Eyre, 7. Danny Mason, 8. Cameron Goodhue, 9. Rhyan Caine, 10. Ash Moeke, 11. Simon Munro, 12. Aaron Bancroft, 13. Jared Payne (capt), 14. Lachie Munro, 15. Jack McPhee.
Replacements: 16 Tevita Vaipulu, 17 Aterea Davis, 18 Matt Harrison, 19 Dan Faleafa, 20 Wayne Ngaluafe, 21 Derek Carpenter, 22 Bryce Heem, 23 Jamie Corsi.

Referee: Glen Jackson

More to follow...

  • ITM Cup Fixtures
  • ITM Cup Results
Recent Results
All times are local
Saturday , October 25
Taranaki 36 - 32 Tasman
Saturday , October 18
Manawatu 23 - 18 Southland
Taranaki 49 - 30 Auckland
Tasman 26 - 6 Canterbury
Friday , October 17
Hawkes Bay 26 - 21 Northland
Sunday , October 12
Taranaki 23 - 26 Canterbury
Tasman 16 - 21 Counties Manukau
Saturday , October 11
Wellington 58 - 34 North Harbour
Hawkes Bay 20 - 20 Southland
Auckland 38 - 10 Northland
More ITM Cup results
  • ITM Cup Table
Premiership 2014
ITM Cup Table
5Counties Manukau1028