Planet Rugby

Canterbury canter to bonus point

30th July 2011 07:13


Robbie Fruean Canterbury v turbos 2011

Double strike: Robbie Fruean

Canterbury ran five tries past Manawatu in the ITM Cup on Saturday to claim a bonus-point 42-15 victory at Rugby Park in Christchurch.

Robbie Fruean scored twice as the defending champions bounced back from successive defeats in style.

Elsewhere on Saturday, North Harbour pulled off a thrilling comeback to edge Otago 20-17 in the tournament's lower tier.

After leading 15-10 at the break, Canterbury used the strong southerly behind them in the second half to ply the pressure before running in three tries in the last 10 minutes.

The Turbos started off well and took a 10-0 lead early on thanks to the first of scrum-half Aaron Smith's two tries. But once the Cantabs had sorted out their handling errors, it was one-way traffic.

In more bad news for Manawatu, fly-half Aaron Cruden was forced off the field with an injury in the second quarter.

The scorers:

For Canterbury:
Tries: Fruean 2, Heinz, Veainu, O'Connor, Bleyendaal
Cons: Bleyendaal 3
Pens: Bleyendaal 2

For Manawatu:
Tries: Smith 2
Cons: Cruden
Pens: Cruden

Canterbury: 1 Paea Fa'anunu, 2 Steve Fualau, 3 Andrew Olorenshaw, 4 Luke Romano, 5 Joel Everson, 6 George Whitelock (c), 7 Matt Todd, 8 Nasi Manu, 9 Willi Heinz, 10 Tyler Bleyendaal, 11 Patrick Osborne, 12 Ryan Crotty, 13 Robbie Fruean, 14 Telusa Veainu, 15 Sean Maitland.
Replacements: 16 Ben Funnell, 17 Nepo Laulala, 18 Ash Parker, 19 Brendon O'Connor, 20 Mark Swanepoel, 21 Takerei Norton, 22 Robbie Flynn, 23 Sam Cottam.

Manawatu: 15 Nehe Milner-Skudder, 14 Asaeli Tikoirotuma, 13 Lewis Marshall, 12 Johnny Leota, 11 Junior Tomasi Cama, 10 Aaron Cruden, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 James Oliver, 7 Doug Tietjens, 6 Nick Crosswell (c), 5 Michael FitzGerald, 4 Reece Robinson, 3 David Te Moana, 2 Rob Foreman, 1 Grant Polson.
Replacements: 16 Bryn Templeman, 17 Jared Brock, 18 Fraser Stone, 19 Hamish Gosling, 20 Karl Bryson, 21 Dan Kelly, 22 Casey Stone, 23 Ma'afu Fia.

Referee: Angus Gardner (Australia).

  • ITM Cup Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
All times are local
Thursday , August 14
Taranaki vs Counties Manukau12:00
Friday , August 15
Southland vs Bay Of Plenty19:35
Saturday , August 16
Otago vs North Harbour14:35
Canterbury vs Auckland16:35
Wellington vs Waikato16:35
Sunday , August 17
Tasman vs Hawkes Bay14:35
Northland vs Manawatu16:35
Thursday , August 21
North Harbour vs Southland19:35
Friday , August 22
Waikato vs Canterbury18:05
Hawkes Bay vs Taranaki20:05
More ITM Cup fixtures
  • ITM Cup Table
ITM Cup Table
4Counties Manukau1028