Planet Rugby

Preview: Bay of Plenty v Wellington

29th July 2011 13:20


bay of plenty fan

Steamers' supporters: Plenty to shout about so far in the 2011 ITM Cup

Wellington travel to Bay Park Stadium for their ITM Cup clash against Bay of Plenty on Sunday.

As the only unbeaten side in the ITM Cup thus far this season, the Steamers are riding a wave of confidence at the moment.

Their latest four-try win over Waikato coupled with Wellington's impressive come-from-behind victory against Canterbury, means we're in for an exciting match.

Bay of Plenty's record against Wellington, shows the magnitude of the challenge that the Steamers' side faces each time that the two teams meet.

In 30 games since 1912, Bay of Plenty has won on just four occasions with two matches drawn.

However honours in the last two years are firmly with the Steamers, after they defeated Wellington 21-17 in 2009, and posted a 31-24 victory last year in the New Zealand capital.

"While we have the home ground advantage at Baypark on Sunday, Wellington showed on Wednesday night when they defeated Canterbury, that they are serious Premiership contenders, and our side will need to be at their best to emerge with the win," said Steamers assistant coach Paul Feeney.

"The Wellington match-up will show if we have the necessary qualities to take out this seasons ITM Cup Premiership championship.

"The Steamers scrum showed when they out-muscled Waikato on Tuesday night, that they have a forward pack capable of mixing with the best in the ITM Cup.

"On Sunday we will get the opportunity to show their multitude of loyal fans that they are genuine 2011 ITM Cup contenders.

"If we can continue on from the Waikato game, where we showed consistency throughout the match and a real hunger for victory, the Steamers can repel the Wellington challenge"

Bay of Plenty: 15 Toby Arnold,14 Lelia Masaga, 13 Phil Burleigh, 12 Steve Kefu, 11 Lance MacDonald, 10 Chris Noakes, 9 Taniela Moa,8 Colin Bourke (c), 7 Luke Braid, 6 Tanerau Latimer,5 Culum Retallick,4 Luke Andrews, 3 Josh Hohneck, 2 John Pareanga, 1 Tristan Moran.
Replacements: 16 Daniel Perrin, 17 Pingi Tala'apitanga, 18 Leighton Price, 19 Sam Cane, 20 Jamie Nutbrown, 21 Daniel Waenga, 22 Ben W Smith, 23 Bronson Murray.

Wellington: 15 Jason Woodward, 14 Lote Raikabula, 13 Alipate Leiua, 12 Michael Hobbs, 11 Julian Savea, 10 Lima Sopoaga, 9 TJ Perenara ,8 Victor Vito, 7 Scott Fuglistaller, 6 Faifili Levave, 5 Api Naikatini, 4 Jeremy Thrush (c), 3 Whetu Henry, 2 Dane Coles, 1 Jacob Ellison.
Replacements: 16 Motu Matu'u, 17 Arden David-Perrot, 18 Mark Reddish, 19 Brad Shields, 20 Serge Lilo, 21 Frae Wilson, 22 Michael Lealava'a, 23 Reg Goodes.

  • ITM Cup Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
All times are local
Wednesday, September 24
North Harbour vs Canterbury19:35
Thursday , September 25
Bay Of Plenty vs Northland19:35
Friday , September 26
Taranaki vs Auckland19:35
Saturday , September 27
Waikato vs Manawatu14:35
Counties Manukau vs Wellington17:35
North Harbour vs Hawkes Bay19:35
Sunday , September 28
Tasman vs Otago14:35
Canterbury vs Southland16:35
Wednesday, October 1
Hawkes Bay vs Wellington19:35
Thursday , October 2
Auckland vs Waikato19:35
More ITM Cup fixtures
  • ITM Cup Results
Recent Results
All times are local
Sunday , September 21
Otago 38 - 7 WaikatoOtago vs Waikato Report
Wellington 20 - 42 TasmanWellington vs Tasman Report
Saturday , September 20
Hawkes Bay 36 - 17 Bay Of Plenty
Auckland 32 - 7 North HarbourAuckland vs North Harbour Report
Manawatu 36 - 17 Southland
Friday , September 19
Counties Manukau 20 - 28 CanterburyCounties Manukau vs Canterbury Report
Thursday , September 18
Northland 20 - 31 TaranakiNorthland vs Taranaki Report
Wednesday, September 17
Southland 14 - 38 TasmanSouthland vs Tasman Report
Sunday , September 14
Waikato 26 - 21 Counties ManukauWaikato vs Counties Manukau Report
Hawkes Bay 41 - 0 Otago
More ITM Cup results
  • ITM Cup Table
Premiership 2014
ITM Cup Table