Planet Rugby

Preview: Canterbury vs Manawatu

29th July 2011 10:42


cruden manawatu

Turbos: Know how to beat Cantabs

Canterbury will be out to avoid a third defeat on the trot in the ITM Cup when they host Manawatu at Rugby Park in Christchurch.

The defending champions started the 2011 season off with a bang by beating Auckland, but then tasted two defeats in a row to Southland - losing then Ranfurly Shield in the process - and Wellington.

Victory against the Turbos is now non-negotiable for Rob Penney's men and with three Crusaders back in action, they should return to winning ways at home.

George Whitelock, Matt Todd, Ryan Crotty and Sean Maitland are back.

Whitelock, who will captain the side, Todd, Crotty and Maitland sat out Wednesday night's defeat to the Lions at Westpac Stadium on Wednesday.

Whitelock and Todd are on either side of the scrum, with Crotty at centre and Maitland at full-back.

The hosts will be wary of a Turbos team that pulled off the upset of 2008 in New Zealand's domestic tournament, when the men in green beat Canterbury in the opening round and have come close a few times since then too - losing by a point in Palmerston North last year after holding sway for most of the match.

The teams:

Canterbury: 1 Paea Fa'anunu, 2 Steve Fualau, 3 Andrew Olorenshaw, 4 Luke Romano, 5 Joel Everson, 6 George Whitelock (c), 7 Matt Todd, 8 Nasi Manu, 9 Willi Heinz, 10 Tyler Bleyendaal, 11 Patrick Osborne, 12 Ryan Crotty, 13 Robbie Fruean, 14 Telusa Veainu, 15 Sean Maitland.
Replacements: 16 Ben Funnell, 17 Nepo Laulala, 18 Ash Parker, 19 Brendon O'Connor, 20 Mark Swanepoel, 21 Takerei Norton, 22 Robbie Flynn, 23 Sam Cottam.

Manawatu: 15 Nehe Milner-Skudder, 14 Asaeli Tikoirotuma, 13 Lewis Marshall, 12 Johnny Leota, 11 Junior Tomasi Cama, 10 Aaron Cruden, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 James Oliver, 7 Doug Tietjens, 6 Nick Crosswell (c), 5 Michael FitzGerald, 4 Reece Robinson, 3 David Te Moana, 2 Rob Foreman, 1 Grant Polson.
Replacements: 16 Bryn Templeman, 17 Jared Brock, 18 Fraser Stone, 19 Hamish Gosling, 20 Karl Bryson, 21 Dan Kelly, 22 Casey Stone, 23 Ma'afu Fia.

Referee: Angus Gardner (Australia).

  • ITM Cup Fixtures
  • ITM Cup Results
Recent Results
All times are local
Saturday , October 25
Taranaki 36 - 32 TasmanTaranaki vs Tasman Report
Saturday , October 18
Manawatu 23 - 18 Southland
Taranaki 49 - 30 AucklandTaranaki vs Auckland Report
Tasman 26 - 6 CanterburyTasman vs Canterbury Report
Friday , October 17
Hawkes Bay 26 - 21 Northland
Sunday , October 12
Taranaki 23 - 26 CanterburyTaranaki vs Canterbury Report
Tasman 16 - 21 Counties ManukauTasman vs Counties Manukau Report
Saturday , October 11
Wellington 58 - 34 North HarbourWellington vs North Harbour Report
Hawkes Bay 20 - 20 Southland
Auckland 38 - 10 NorthlandAuckland vs Northland Report
More ITM Cup results
  • ITM Cup Table
Premiership 2014
ITM Cup Table
5Counties Manukau1028