Planet Rugby

Southland hold onto Log o' Wood

29th July 2011 10:34


Josh Bekhuis Southland counties 2011

Try for Southland: Josh Bekhuis

Southland completed their first successful defence of the Ranfurly Shield in 2011 with a 22-14 win over Counties-Manukau in Invercargill on Friday.

The Stags' second win of the season lifts them into mid-table of the ITM Cup Premiership having upset Canterbury last weekend.

James Wilson once again played an influential role, landing six of his sevens attempts at goal for a personal haul of 17 points.

A try from lock Josh Bekhuis (with a little help from the TMO) just before the break gave the hosts a 13-6 lead at half-time and a huge defensive effort in the second period saw Jamie Mackintosh and co. hang on for a well-deserved victory.

Counties struggled to adapt to the wet conditions and despite applying relentless pressure in the second half, the visitors came off second best against a hard-working Southland pack.

Tasesa Lavea had given Counties the early lead from the kicking before Bekhuis drove over for a controversial try after a five metre scrum.

Replacement hooker Grant Henson crashed over for the Steelers seven minutes from time but it was too little too late for the second-division side.

The scorers:

For Southland:
Try: Bekhuis
Con: Wilson
Pens: Wilson 2

For Counties Manukau:
Try: Henson
Pens: Lavea 2, Semple

Southland: 15 Robbie Robinson, 14 Glen Horton/Kade Poki, 13 Kendrick Lynn, 12 Matt Saunders, 11 Tim Cornforth, 10 James Wilson, 9 Scott Cowan, 8 Elliot Dixon, 7 Tim Boys, 6 John Hardie, 5 Joe Tuineau, 4 Josh Bekhuis, 3 Nic Barrett, 2 David Hall, 1 Jamie Mackintosh (c).
Replacements: 16 Jason Rutledge, 17 Chris King, 18 Ben Nally, 19 Kaleni Taetuli, 20 Sonny Rangitoheriri, 21 Scott Eade, 22 Tony Koonwaiyou, 23 Micheal Peterson.

Counties Manukau: 15 Ahsee Tuala, 14 Tyrone Lefau, 13 Siale Piutau, 12 Niva Ta'auso, 11 Sherwin Stowers, 10 Tasesa Lavea, 9 Samisoni Fisilau, 8 Fritz Lee, 7 DJ Forbes, 6 Adam Cathcart, 5 Jamie Chipman (c), 4 Ronald Raaymakers, 3 Jeremiah Fatialofa, 2 Mark Price, 1 Simon Lemalu.
Replacements: Mark Selwyn, Matt Talaese, Grant Henson, David Bason, James Semple, Reynold Lee-Lo, Ihipa Thompson.

  • ITM Cup Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
All times are local
Saturday , September 20
Hawkes Bay vs Bay Of Plenty14:35
Auckland vs North HarbourAuckland vs North Harbour Preview
Manawatu vs Southland19:35
Sunday , September 21
Otago vs WaikatoOtago vs Waikato Preview
Wellington vs TasmanWellington vs Tasman Preview
Wednesday, September 24
North Harbour vs Canterbury19:35
Thursday , September 25
Bay Of Plenty vs Northland19:35
Friday , September 26
Taranaki vs Auckland19:35
Saturday , September 27
Waikato vs Manawatu14:35
Counties Manukau vs Wellington17:35
More ITM Cup fixtures
  • ITM Cup Results
Recent Results
All times are local
Friday , September 19
Counties Manukau 20 - 28 CanterburyCounties Manukau vs Canterbury Report
Thursday , September 18
Northland 20 - 31 TaranakiNorthland vs Taranaki Report
Wednesday, September 17
Southland 14 - 38 TasmanSouthland vs Tasman Report
Sunday , September 14
Waikato 26 - 21 Counties ManukauWaikato vs Counties Manukau Report
Hawkes Bay 41 - 0 Otago
Saturday , September 13
Bay Of Plenty 12 - 27 AucklandBay Of Plenty vs Auckland Report
Southland 36 - 34 Northland
Friday , September 12
North Harbour 24 - 13 Manawatu
Canterbury 46 - 12 WellingtonCanterbury vs Wellington Report
Thursday , September 11
Tasman 30 - 31 TaranakiTasman vs Taranaki Report
More ITM Cup results
  • ITM Cup Table
Premiership 2014
ITM Cup Table