Planet Rugby

Two wins in a row for Steamers

23rd July 2011 10:03

Share:

Phil Burleigh bay of plenty

Dominant: Phil Burleigh on the charge for Bay of Plenty

Bay of Plenty made it two wins from two in the ITM Cup thanks to a comprehensive 38-17 win over North Harbour on Saturday.

The Steamers were always in control and never looked like losing after leading 20-3 at half-time.

Wing Lelia Masaga bagged a brace for the hosts, while New Zealand U20 star Sam Cane and Ben Smith also crossed the whitewash to help their team to a four-try bonus point victory.

The scorers:

For Bay of Plenty:
Tries: Masaga 2, Cane, Smith
Cons: Noakes 3
Pens: Noakes 4

For North Harbour:
Tries: Luamanu, Rei
Cons: Botica, Walker
Pen: Botica

Meanwhile, Manawatu put last year's 77-8 massacre at the hands of Northland behind them to claim a hard-fought 30-22 bonus-point win in their ITM Cup Championship clash in Palmerston North.

  • ITM Cup Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
ITM Cup
Wednesday, September 3
Manawatu vs Bay Of Plenty19:35
Thursday , September 4
Otago vs Canterbury19:35
Friday , September 5
Tasman vs Waikato18:05
Northland vs Hawkes Bay20:05
Saturday , September 6
Auckland vs Wellington14:35
Taranaki vs Southland06:35
Sunday , September 7
Manawatu vs Counties Manukau14:35
Bay Of Plenty vs North Harbour16:35
Wednesday, September 10
Otago vs Northland09:35
Thursday , September 11
Tasman vs Taranaki19:35
More ITM Cup fixtures
  • ITM Cup Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
ITM Cup
Sunday , August 31
Taranaki 41 - 3 Bay Of PlentyTaranaki vs Bay Of Plenty Report
Auckland 16 - 16 TasmanAuckland vs Tasman Report
Saturday , August 30
Counties Manukau 21 - 27 Hawkes BayCounties Manukau vs Hawkes Bay Report
Southland 22 - 33 Otago
North Harbour 16 - 22 WaikatoNorth Harbour vs Waikato Report
Friday , August 29
Wellington 21 - 27 ManawatuWellington vs Manawatu Report
Thursday , August 28
Canterbury 48 - 3 NorthlandCanterbury vs Northland Report
Wednesday, August 27
Waikato 17 - 46 TaranakiWaikato vs Taranaki Report
Sunday , August 24
Manawatu 7 - 35 AucklandManawatu vs Auckland Report
Bay Of Plenty 27 - 56 TasmanBay Of Plenty vs Tasman Report
More ITM Cup results
  • ITM Cup Table
Premiership 2014
ITM Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Canterbury315
2Taranaki413
3Tasman312
4Waikato49
5Counties Manukau38