Planet Rugby

Stags suffer back-to-back defeats

19th July 2011 11:47


hawkes bay itm cup

Too good: Hawke's Bay

Southland suffered their second ITM Cup loss in as many outings after going down 29-18 to Hawke's Bay in Napier on Tuesday.

Both sides bagged two tries apiece but the boot of Magpies centre Andrew Horrell proved to be the difference between the two sides.

Horrell contributed 24 points, which consisted of a try, two conversions and five penalties to help the 'Championship' outfit along to their first win of the season.

Meanwhile, North Harbour bounced back from last week's opening loss at the hands of Otago after beating Tasman with a five-try second-half blitz paving a 39-15 victory.

After a supremely dominant first half, the Makos led 15-6 only to run out of puff and were held scoreless in the second spell.

The scorers:

For Hawke's Bay:
Tries: Eaton, Horrell
Cons: Horrell 2
Pens: Horrell 5

For Southland:
Tries: Robinson, Hardie.
Con: Robinson
Pen: Robinson 2

Hawke's Bay: 15 Richard Buckman, 14 Sinoti Sinoti, 13 Star Timu, 12 Andrew Horrell, 11 Tu Umaga-Marshall, 10 Daniel Kirkpatrick 9 Chris Eaton, 8 Mike Coman (c), 7 Karl Lowe, 6 Trent Boswell-Wakefield, 5 Ashton Johnson, 4 Brodie Retallick, 3 Jody Allen, 2 Hikawera Elliot, 1 Sona Taumalolo.
Replacements: 16 Danny Logan, 17 Hikairo Forbes, 18 Maselino Paulino or Kane Thompson, 19 Adam Bradey, 20 Isaac Paewai or Kahn Fotuali'i, 21 McLeod or Tua Saseve, 22 Gillies Kaka, 23 Ben Tameifuna or Anthony Perenise

Southland: 15 Robbie Robinson, 14 Tim Cornforth, 13 James Lew, 12 Matt Saunders (capt), 11 Glen Horton, 10 James Wilson, 9 Scott Cowan, 8 Elliot Dixon, 7 Tim Boys, 6 John Hardie, 5 Joe Tuineau, 4 Ben Nally, 3 Nick Barrett, 2 David Hall, 1 Michael Peterson.
Replacements: 16 Jason Rutledge, 17 Jamie Mackintosh, 18 Josh Bekhuis, 19 Kaleni Taituli, 20 Sonny Rangitohereri, 21 Kendrick Lynn, 22 Scott Eade, 23 Chris King

Referee: Vinny Munro

  • ITM Cup Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
All times are local
Thursday , August 14
Taranaki vs Counties Manukau12:00
Friday , August 15
Southland vs Bay Of Plenty19:35
Saturday , August 16
Otago vs North Harbour14:35
Canterbury vs Auckland16:35
Wellington vs Waikato16:35
Sunday , August 17
Tasman vs Hawkes Bay14:35
Northland vs Manawatu16:35
Thursday , August 21
North Harbour vs Southland19:35
Friday , August 22
Waikato vs Canterbury18:05
Hawkes Bay vs Taranaki20:05
More ITM Cup fixtures
  • ITM Cup Table
ITM Cup Table
4Counties Manukau1028