Planet Rugby

Evans gets twelve-week ban

23rd January 2014 16:07

Share:

Ian Evans

12 weeks: Ian Evans

Ospreys second-row Ian Evans has been suspended for twelve weeks after being sent off for stamping in their recent game against Leinster.

European Rugby Cup confirmed the suspension on Thursday, with the ban seeing the lock miss out on defending the Six Nations with Wales.

Evans was sent off by French referee Romain Poite in the 20th minute of the Pool 1 game for stamping on Leinster second-row Mike McCarthy in contravention of Law 10.4(b), which states "a player must not stamp or trample on an opponent".

  • RaboDirect PRO12 Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
RaboDirect PRO12
Saturday , April 19
Zebre vs EdinburghZebre vs Edinburgh Preview
Connacht vs MunsterConnacht vs Munster Preview
Sunday , April 20
Cardiff Blues vs ScarletsCardiff Blues vs Scarlets Preview
Newport Gwent D'gons vs OspreysNewport Gwent D
Saturday , April 26
Glasgow vs Edinburgh19:05
Thursday , May 1
Zebre vs Ospreys17:00
Friday , May 2
Benetton Treviso vs Glasgow19:00
Scarlets vs Newport Gwent D'gons19:05
Ulster vs Leinster19:30
Saturday , May 3
Edinburgh vs Munster17:00
More RaboDirect PRO12 fixtures
  • RaboDirect PRO12 Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
RaboDirect PRO12
Friday , April 18
Leinster 62 - 7 Benetton TrevisoLeinster vs Benetton Treviso Report
Glasgow 27 - 9 UlsterGlasgow vs Ulster Report
Saturday , April 12
Benetton Treviso 45 - 27 Newport Gwent D'gonsBenetton Treviso vs Newport Gwent D
Munster 5 - 22 GlasgowMunster vs Glasgow Report
Scarlets 27 - 20 ZebreScarlets vs Zebre Report
Friday , April 11
Ospreys 25 - 19 LeinsterOspreys vs Leinster Report
Ulster 58 - 12 ConnachtUlster vs Connacht Report
Edinburgh 22 - 29 Cardiff BluesEdinburgh vs Cardiff Blues Report
Friday , April 4
Glasgow 29 - 10 Benetton TrevisoGlasgow vs Benetton Treviso Report
Thursday , April 3
Newport Gwent D'gons 19 - 23 EdinburghNewport Gwent D
More RaboDirect PRO12 results
  • RaboDirect PRO12 Table
RaboDirect PRO12 Table
PosTeamPPts
1Leinster2074
2Ulster2065
3Glasgow Warriors1964
4Munster1963
5Ospreys1956