Planet Rugby

Rees to undergo surgery

22nd October 2013 09:51

Share:

Matthew Rees Cardiff Blues 2013

Matthew Rees: Sidelined

Cardiff Blues have announced that club captain Matthew Rees is to have an enforced spell away from rugby as he will undergo testicular surgery.

Hooker Rees, who joined the region from Scarlets this summer, will miss Friday's Pro12 trip to Ulster. The region gave no further details as to reason for the operation nor how long they expected Rees to be on the sidelines.

"Cardiff Blues would like to take this opportunity to wish Matthew a speedy recovery and we look forward to seeing him back in action in the future," read a statement on Tuesday.

Rees won his 61st cap for Wales against Ireland in the 2013 Six Nations.

  • RaboDirect PRO12 Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
RaboDirect PRO12
Friday , April 18
Leinster vs Benetton Treviso17:00
Glasgow vs Ulster19:35
Saturday , April 19
Zebre vs Edinburgh14:30
Connacht vs Munster18:15
Sunday , April 20
Cardiff Blues vs Scarlets14:00
Newport Gwent D'gons vs Ospreys16:45
Saturday , April 26
Glasgow vs Edinburgh19:05
Thursday , May 1
Zebre vs Ospreys17:00
Friday , May 2
Benetton Treviso vs Glasgow19:00
Scarlets vs Newport Gwent D'gons19:05
More RaboDirect PRO12 fixtures
  • RaboDirect PRO12 Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
RaboDirect PRO12
Saturday , April 12
Benetton Treviso 45 - 27 Newport Gwent D'gonsBenetton Treviso vs Newport Gwent D
Munster 5 - 22 GlasgowMunster vs Glasgow Report
Scarlets 27 - 20 ZebreScarlets vs Zebre Report
Friday , April 11
Ospreys 25 - 19 LeinsterOspreys vs Leinster Report
Ulster 58 - 12 ConnachtUlster vs Connacht Report
Edinburgh 22 - 29 Cardiff BluesEdinburgh vs Cardiff Blues Report
Friday , April 4
Glasgow 29 - 10 Benetton TrevisoGlasgow vs Benetton Treviso Report
Thursday , April 3
Newport Gwent D'gons 19 - 23 EdinburghNewport Gwent D
Sunday , March 30
Scarlets 32 - 30 ConnachtScarlets vs Connacht Report
Saturday , March 29
Zebre 25 - 25 Newport Gwent D'gonsZebre vs Newport Gwent D
More RaboDirect PRO12 results
  • RaboDirect PRO12 Table
RaboDirect PRO12 Table
PosTeamPPts
1Leinster1969
2Ulster1965
3Munster1963
4Glasgow Warriors1860
5Ospreys1956