Planet Rugby

New Zealand

New Zealand

Asian Super Rugby bids falling short

25th August 2014 07:20

Share:

steve tew new zealand nzru

Unimpressed: Steve Tew

The New Zealand Rugby Union are so far unsatisfied by the Super Rugby team proposals from both Japan and Singapore.

NZRU chief executive Steve Tew told reporters on Monday that both bids had been less than satisfactory.

Tew added that site visits were planned over the coming weeks to assess each potential base for the 18th Super Rugby side to be added from 2016.

The NZRU boss also stated that for the time being the committee were not prepared to say yes to either proposal, with work still to be done.

The two bidders had until mid-August to submit formal tender documents, outlining why they were best-positioned to join the competition.

The bids were assessed against the key criteria of commercial value, infrastructure, geographic location, rugby readiness and ongoing sustainability.

Other teams joining the competition in 2016 will be South African franchise the Kings, along with a team from Argentina.

  • New Zealand Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
International Match
Saturday , October 18
Australia vs New Zealand10:00
Saturday , November 1
USA vs New ZealandTBC
Saturday , November 8
England vs New Zealand14:30
Saturday , November 15
Scotland vs New ZealandTBC
Saturday , November 22
Wales vs New Zealand17:30
More International Match fixtures
Rugby Championship
Saturday , September 27
Argentina vs New Zealand23:10
Saturday , October 4
South Africa vs New Zealand16:05
More Rugby Championship fixtures
  • New Zealand Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Rugby Championship
Saturday , September 13
New Zealand 14 - 10 South AfricaNew Zealand vs South Africa Report
Saturday , September 6
New Zealand 28 - 9 ArgentinaNew Zealand vs Argentina Report
Saturday , August 23
New Zealand 51 - 20 Australia
Saturday , August 16
Australia 12 - 12 New Zealand
More Rugby Championship results
  • Table
Rugby Championship Table
PosTeamPPts
1New Zealand416
2South Africa410
3Australia410
4Argentina43