Planet Rugby

New Zealand

New Zealand

Surgery blow rules out Woodcock

08th August 2014 07:45

Share:

Tony Woodcock holding his shoulder

Ruled out: Tony Woodcock

New Zealand have suffered a blow ahead of the Rugby Championship after it was confirmed that prop Tony Woodcock needs shoulder surgery.

The loosehead prop, who has been capped 110 times by his country, will miss the tournament and has been ruled out for approximately five months.

"Every dark cloud has a bit of silver lining and for him it will be an opportunity to do something he hasn't done for 12 seasons, and that's get a good off-season," said head coach Steve Hansen.

"That will be important because it will freshen him up and he'll be hungry to get into it next year."

Meanwhile, second-row Dominic Bird is also on the sideline but for three weeks and has been replaced by Hurricanes stalwart Jeremy Thrush.

  • New Zealand Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
International Match
Saturday , October 18
Australia vs New Zealand10:00
Saturday , November 1
USA vs New ZealandTBC
Saturday , November 8
England vs New Zealand14:30
Saturday , November 15
Scotland vs New ZealandTBC
Saturday , November 22
Wales vs New Zealand17:30
More International Match fixtures
Rugby Championship
Saturday , September 27
Argentina vs New Zealand23:10
Saturday , October 4
South Africa vs New Zealand16:05
More Rugby Championship fixtures
  • New Zealand Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Rugby Championship
Saturday , September 13
New Zealand 14 - 10 South AfricaNew Zealand vs South Africa Report
Saturday , September 6
New Zealand 28 - 9 ArgentinaNew Zealand vs Argentina Report
Saturday , August 23
New Zealand 51 - 20 Australia
Saturday , August 16
Australia 12 - 12 New Zealand
More Rugby Championship results
  • Table
Rugby Championship Table
PosTeamPPts
1New Zealand416
2South Africa410
3Australia410
4Argentina43