Planet Rugby

New Zealand

New Zealand

Surgery for Savea and Toomaga-Allen

01st August 2014 18:23

Share:

Jeffery Toomaga Allen running out for Wellington

Ruled out: Toomaga-Allen

Wellington have been dealt a double setback ahead of the ITM Cup after tighthead Jeffery Toomaga-Allen and flanker Ardie Savea suffered injuries.

Toomaga-Allen, who enjoyed an outstanding Super Rugby season for the Hurricanes, is set for knee surgery which may rule him out until 2015.

"Depending on what the surgeon finds when he gets there, that will have an impact on his recovery time, but we won't see him during the ITM Cup," Lions head coach Chris Boyd told stuff.co.nz.

"You can never say 100 per cent until they go in and have a good look, but I don't expect to see him until the next Hurricanes season."

Meanwhile, flank Savea also requires surgery on a shoulder issue in another significant blow for Boyd and the Lions ahead of their campaign.

"Ardie will have surgery in two weeks from now and based on the scans it doesn't look too good, but again, you never know," he added.

"The bright side, if there is one right now, is they'll both be fighting fit for Super Rugby."

  • New Zealand Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
International Match
Saturday , October 18
Australia vs New Zealand10:00
Saturday , November 1
USA vs New ZealandTBC
Saturday , November 8
England vs New Zealand14:30
Saturday , November 15
Scotland vs New ZealandTBC
Saturday , November 22
Wales vs New Zealand17:30
More International Match fixtures
Rugby Championship
Saturday , September 27
Argentina vs New Zealand23:10
Saturday , October 4
South Africa vs New Zealand16:05
More Rugby Championship fixtures
  • New Zealand Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Rugby Championship
Saturday , September 13
New Zealand 14 - 10 South AfricaNew Zealand vs South Africa Report
Saturday , September 6
New Zealand 28 - 9 Argentina
Saturday , August 23
New Zealand 51 - 20 Australia
Saturday , August 16
Australia 12 - 12 New Zealand
More Rugby Championship results
  • Table
Rugby Championship Table
PosTeamPPts
1New Zealand416
2South Africa410
3Australia410
4Argentina43