Planet Rugby

New Zealand

New Zealand

ABs confirm North Harbour games

09th July 2014 11:02

Share:

Steve Hansen watching on at All Blacks training

Well prepared: Steve Hansen

The All Blacks have confirmed they will take on Northland and North Harbour in Albany next month.

All Blacks coach Steve Hansen has once again, like previous years, opted for his team to play against provincial teams in two 40 minute halves at the North Harbour Stadium on Friday, August 8.

The event will be played in the following format: 18:00 All Blacks v North Harbour, 18:50 All Blacks v Northland, 19:40 North Harbour v Northland

Hansen believes it is important for players whose Super Rugby franchises completed their seasons a while ago, to get some game time.

"We have found this format to be a real 'win-win-win' scenario," Hansen told TVNZ.

"It's great for us to get some training matches in against some quality opposition as we round out our preparations.

"It's also great for Harbour and Northland as they prepare for the domestic competition, and it's fantastic for the fans who will be able to come and see all three teams play some open, exciting rugby."

The All Blacks will be based in Auckland ahead of their opening Rugby Championship Test against Australia in Sydney on Saturday, August 16.

  • New Zealand Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
International Match
Saturday , October 18
Australia vs New Zealand10:00
Saturday , November 1
USA vs New ZealandTBC
Saturday , November 8
England vs New Zealand14:30
Saturday , November 15
Scotland vs New ZealandTBC
Saturday , November 22
Wales vs New Zealand17:30
More International Match fixtures
Rugby Championship
Saturday , September 27
Argentina vs New Zealand23:10
Saturday , October 4
South Africa vs New Zealand16:05
More Rugby Championship fixtures
  • New Zealand Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Rugby Championship
Saturday , September 13
New Zealand 14 - 10 South AfricaNew Zealand vs South Africa Report
Saturday , September 6
New Zealand 28 - 9 ArgentinaNew Zealand vs Argentina Report
Saturday , August 23
New Zealand 51 - 20 Australia
Saturday , August 16
Australia 12 - 12 New Zealand
More Rugby Championship results
  • Table
Rugby Championship Table
PosTeamPPts
1New Zealand416
2South Africa410
3Australia410
4Argentina43