Planet Rugby

South Africa

South Africa

Double blow for Boks

09th June 2014 16:48

Share:

Juan de Jongh passes Springboks captain s run

Hospitalised: Juan de Jongh

Juan de Jongh and Marnitz Boshoff will not be considered for selection for Saturday's Test against Wales in Durban because of illness and injury.

De Jongh was admitted to a Durban hospital on Sunday evening with a severe chest infection. He will in all likelihood only be discharged by Wednesday and will not be ready to take on Wales this weekend.

Boshoff rolled his ankle at training in Cape Town last week. He has a grade one ankle sprain and the Springbok medical team are hopeful that he would be able to start training again late this week.

A decision on both players' further involvement in the series will only be taken at a later stage and they will remain with the squad for the time being.

  • South Africa Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
International Match
Saturday , November 8
Ireland vs South Africa17:00
Saturday , November 15
England vs South Africa14:30
Saturday , November 22
Italy vs South Africa14:30
Saturday , November 29
Wales vs South Africa14:30
More International Match fixtures
Rugby Championship
Saturday , September 27
South Africa vs Australia16:05
Saturday , October 4
South Africa vs New Zealand16:05
More Rugby Championship fixtures
  • South Africa Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Rugby Championship
Saturday , September 13
New Zealand 14 - 10 South AfricaNew Zealand vs South Africa Report
Saturday , September 6
Australia 24 - 23 South AfricaAustralia vs South Africa Report
Saturday , August 23
Argentina 31 - 33 South Africa
Saturday , August 16
South Africa 13 - 6 Argentina
More Rugby Championship results
  • Table
Rugby Championship Table
PosTeamPPts
1New Zealand416
2South Africa410
3Australia410
4Argentina43