Planet Rugby



Ireland unchanged for Twickenham

20th February 2014 12:28


Ireland centre Brian O Driscoll talking

Fully fit: Brian O'Driscoll

Ireland have named an unchanged starting line-up for their Six Nations clash with England at Twickenham on Saturday, but do tweak their bench.

Those alterations amongst the replacements see both Iain Henderson and Jordi Murphy come in for Dan Tuohy and Tommy O'Donnell respectively.

Should he appear in the Twickenham clash, Murphy would make his international debut.

Paul O'Connell will lead the side as Ireland seek their first win in Twickenham since 2010. Chris Henry, a try scorer against Wales, retains the openside jersey and is joined in the back-row by Jamie Heaslip and the in-form Peter O'Mahony.

Conor Murray and Johnny Sexton continue as the half-back pairing with Brian O'Driscoll and Gordon D'Arcy in midfield. O'Driscoll will equal George Gregan as the most capped player in Test rugby.

Ireland: 15 Rob Kearney, 14 Andrew Trimble, 13 Brian O'Driscoll, 12 Gordon D'Arcy, 11 Dave Kearney, 10 Johnny Sexton, 9 Conor Murray, 8 Jamie Heaslip, 7 Chris Henry, 6 Peter O'Mahony, 5 Paul O'Connell (c), 4 Devin Toner, 3 Mike Ross, 2 Rory Best, 1 Cian Healy.
Replacements: 16 Sean Cronin, 17 Jack McGrath, 18 Martin Moore, 19 Iain Henderson, 20 Jordi Murphy, 21 Isaac Boss, 22 Paddy Jackson, 23 Fergus McFadden.

Date: Saturday, February 22
Venue: Twickenham
Kick-off: 16:00 GMT
Referee: Craig Joubert (South Africa)
Assistant Referees: Romain Poite (France), Leighton Hodges (Wales)
TMO: Jim Yuille (Scotland)

  • Ireland Fixtures
  • Ireland Results
Recent Results
All times are local
International Match
Saturday , June 14
Argentina 17 - 23 IrelandArgentina vs Ireland Report
More International Match results
  • Table
RBS Six Nations Table