Planet Rugby

Exeter

Exeter

Mumm knows improvements are a must

12th March 2014 14:02

Share:

Dean Mumm Exeter Chiefs 2013

Determined: Dean Mumm

Exeter Chiefs skipper Dean Mumm acknowledges his side will have to step it up if they are to win the LV= Cup Final this weekend.

The Chiefs edged out Bath 22-19 at The Rec on Sunday to claim a place in the Final against high-flying Northampton Saints.

And despite the success, Mumm knows Exeter will need to up their game if they are to turn over Jim Mallinder's men.

"It wasn't pretty again from us. In the set-piece, our scrums were ok but the line-out was pretty rubbish, to be honest," said Mumm.

"We also gave away a lot of penalties, myself included, and we gave them plenty of opportunities and we also missed eight points with the boot as well, so it could have been a much more impressive performance from our point of view.

"The good news, though, is we are going home to Sandy Park for the final of the LV= Cup on Sunday, and that is a great achievement, no matter how it comes."

"Set-piece wise, we have had really good games against Bath this season and lost, and the game where we don't cope so well is the game we win," added Mumm.

"Rugby is a bit like that sometimes, but our back three were particularly dangerous on the counter-attack, and the tries from Lukey [Luke Arscott] and Fets [Fetu'u Vainikolo] were really brilliant individual moments, and at the end of the day that was the difference.

"As things get a little bit drier and the pitches a little bit harder, we will start to see that a little bit more from us. We have got heaps of work to do to be right up there in the mix next weekend, but it is all there for us to take."

  • Exeter Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Friday , November 14
Northampton vs Exeter19:45
Saturday , November 22
Exeter vs Wasps15:00
Saturday , November 29
Exeter vs Saracens16:30
Saturday , December 20
Sale vs Exeter14:00
Saturday , December 27
Bath vs Exeter15:00
Saturday , January 3
Exeter vs Gloucester15:00
Sunday , January 11
London Irish vs Exeter15:00
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
LV= Cup
Saturday , November 1
Exeter vs Gloucester15:00
Saturday , November 8
Exeter vs Bath16:30
More LV= Cup fixtures
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Saturday , October 25
Exeter vs ConnachtExeter vs Connacht Preview
More European Rugby Challenge Cup fixtures
  • Exeter Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Saturday , October 18
Bayonne 30 - 24 Exeter
More European Rugby Challenge Cup results
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , October 11
Exeter 44 - 24 London IrishExeter vs London Irish Report
Sunday , October 5
Newcastle 29 - 24 Exeter
Sunday , September 28
Exeter 36 - 13 Harlequins
Friday , September 19
Gloucester 22 - 25 Exeter
Saturday , September 13
Exeter 20 - 24 Leicester
Sunday , September 7
London Welsh 0 - 52 Exeter
More Aviva Premiership results
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
1Northampton625
2Saracens622
3Exeter620
4Bath620
5Wasps615