Planet Rugby

Ulster

Ulster

Cave optimistic after Ulster shock

31st July 2014 05:40

Share:

darren cave ulster leicester

Progress: Darren Cave

Ireland and Ulster centre Darren Cave has a positive outlook on the new season for the Irish province, despite a turbulent off-season.

The dramatic departures from Ravenhill of director of rugby David Humphreys, followed swiftly by head coach Mark Anscombe, surprised many.

Ireland assistant coach Les Kiss is in temporary charge for now in Belfast and with him at the helm Cave, a big fan, has faith Ulster can kick on.

"I've always had a great relationship with Les and I think he's an absolutely fantastic coach," Cave told the .

"We can now only look forwards and all I can say again is how excited I am about working under Les."

Revealing the moment he heard of Humphreys' decision to leave Gloucester and join Ulster, Cave admitted his understandable shock.

The 27-year-old featured for Ireland in Argentina and is in a battle with the likes of team-mate Jared Payne and Connacht's Robbie Henshaw to permanently secured Brian O'Driscoll's 13 shirt.

"It was the day of the first Test match in Argentina (for Ireland) and at lunchtime when I got a text from Stephen Ferris and that was the first I heard about David Humphreys (leaving)," added Cave.

"We were all very shocked and there was no hiding that, but we were focusing on the games over there at the time and I think it's all credit to Shane Logan (Ulster Rugby chief executive) and the other powers that be at Ulster for making some gutsy calls but I think they've got some good people in good places."

Cave is set to return 'a couple of weeks' into the new Pro12 season after undergoing shoulder surgery.

  • Ulster Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , October 25
Ulster vs Toulon13:00
Saturday , December 6
Ulster vs ScarletsTBC
Saturday , December 13
Scarlets vs UlsterTBC
Saturday , January 17
Toulon vs UlsterTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , November 1
Ulster vs Newport Gwent D'gons19:35
Friday , November 21
Ulster vs Ospreys19:35
Friday , November 28
Munster vs Ulster19:35
Saturday , December 20
Ospreys vs Ulster17:15
Saturday , December 27
Ulster vs ConnachtTBC
Saturday , January 3
Leinster vs Ulster14:40
More Guinness PRO12 fixtures
  • Ulster Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , October 18
Leicester 25 - 18 UlsterLeicester vs Ulster Report
More European Rugby Champions Cup results
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , October 11
Ulster 29 - 9 GlasgowUlster vs Glasgow Report
Friday , October 3
Ulster 30 - 0 Edinburgh
Saturday , September 27
Zebre 13 - 6 Ulster
Friday , September 19
Cardiff Blues 9 - 26 Ulster
Friday , September 12
Ulster 33 - 13 Zebre
Saturday , September 6
Scarlets 32 - 32 Ulster
More Guinness PRO12 results
  • Table
Pool 3
European Rugby Champions Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Toulon14
2Leicester Tigers14
3Ulster11
4Scarlets10