Planet Rugby

Ulster

Ulster

Top 14 funds concern Irish rugby

19th July 2014 19:33

Share:

Ireland Six Nations celeb 2014

A good year: Ireland

IRFU chief executive Philip Browne has admitted that losing Ireland's best players to the Top 14 remains a concern.

Despite retaining the services of key internationals including Jamie Heaslip and Sean O'Brien, Browne is aware of the financial lure to move to France.

Fly-half Jonathan Sexton is currently based in Paris but otherwise the IRFU have done well to keep Ireland's top players in the country.

The IRFU announced that the last financial year had been better than expected thanks to success in the Six Nations and with Leinster, Munster and Ulster all reaching the last eight of the Heineken Cup.

The figures included a €7.3m surplus and only an overall deficit of €1m, an improvement from last year's €4.5m.

"The sort of money that is available in France, of course we've got to be concerned," Browne told the Irish Times.

"We've done pretty well with limited financial resources and limited playing resources over the years.

"We have to look at our business model, number one and maybe have to look at bringing in private money.

"Some of the provinces have been quite successful at generating private money."

  • Ulster Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , October 18
Leicester vs Ulster19:45
Saturday , October 25
Ulster vs Toulon13:00
Saturday , December 6
Ulster vs ScarletsTBC
Saturday , December 13
Scarlets vs UlsterTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , September 27
Zebre vs Ulster15:00
Friday , October 3
Ulster vs Edinburgh19:35
Saturday , October 11
Ulster vs Glasgow17:05
Saturday , November 1
Ulster vs Newport Gwent D'gonsTBC
Friday , November 21
Ulster vs Ospreys19:35
Friday , November 28
Munster vs Ulster19:35
More Guinness PRO12 fixtures
  • Ulster Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Guinness PRO12
Friday , September 19
Cardiff Blues 9 - 26 UlsterCardiff Blues vs Ulster Report
Friday , September 12
Ulster 33 - 13 ZebreUlster vs Zebre Report
Saturday , September 6
Scarlets 32 - 32 Ulster
More Guinness PRO12 results
  • Table
Pool 5
European Rugby Champions Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Ulster626
2Leicester Tigers621
3Montpellier611
4Treviso60