Planet Rugby

Ulster

Ulster

Ulster and Anscombe part ways

30th June 2014 17:06

Share:

mark anscombe ulster

Moving on: Mark Anscombe

Ulster have announced that their head coach Mark Anscombe is to leave the Ravenhill-based province with immediate effect.

The news comes just weeks after Ulster's director of rugby David Humphreys announced that he was leaving to further his career with Gloucester.

Les Kiss will take-up the position of interim director of rugby to allow time for a review of the coaching structures at Ulster to take place.

Kiss will continue as Ireland Assistant Coach and will combine his duties with the international side with his new role at Ulster.

Ulster Rugby Chief Executive, Shane Logan, said: "I would like to pay tribute to the contribution that Mark Anscombe made over the past two seasons and to thank him for his hard work and dedication.

"Everyone at Ulster Rugby wishes him well for the future."

"Les Kiss will have an expanded remit for the Province's Director of Rugby and will lead the coaching staff, assisted by Jonny Bell and Neil Doak and will manage 1st team selection.

"His appointment allows us time to recruit for long-term success."

Les Kiss will start work at Ulster Rugby on 19 July.

  • Ulster Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , December 6
Ulster vs Scarlets19:45
Sunday , December 14
Scarlets vs Ulster17:15
Saturday , January 17
Toulon vs UlsterTBC
Saturday , January 24
Ulster vs LeicesterTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
Guinness PRO12
Friday , November 28
Munster vs UlsterMunster vs Ulster Preview
Saturday , December 20
Ospreys vs Ulster17:15
Saturday , December 27
Ulster vs ConnachtTBC
Saturday , January 3
Leinster vs Ulster14:40
Saturday , January 10
Benetton Treviso vs UlsterTBC
Wednesday, January 14
Ulster vs Benetton TrevisoTBC
More Guinness PRO12 fixtures
  • Ulster Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Guinness PRO12
Friday , November 21
Ulster 25 - 16 OspreysUlster vs Ospreys Report
Saturday , November 1
Ulster 23 - 6 Newport Gwent D'gons
More Guinness PRO12 results
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , October 25
Ulster 13 - 23 Toulon
Saturday , October 18
Leicester 25 - 18 Ulster
More European Rugby Champions Cup results
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , October 11
Ulster 29 - 9 Glasgow
More Guinness PRO12 results
  • Table
Pool 3
European Rugby Champions Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Toulon28
2Scarlets24
3Leicester Tigers24
4Ulster21