Planet Rugby

Ulster

Ulster

Two pools of death in Champions Cup

10th June 2014 12:50

Share:

Tom Youngs of Leicester Tigers tangles with Chris Henry of Ulster in Heineken Cup match

Clash: Leicester and Ulster

The draw for the inaugural European Rugby Champions Cup has been made in Switzerland, with champions Toulon facing Leicester, Ulster and Scarlets.

Usually in these draws there will be one so called 'Pool of Death' but Tuesday's event threw up two, as Saracens, Munster, Clermont and Sale Sharks were also pitted against each other in Pool 1.

Pool 2 will see PRO12 champions Leinster face Top 14 finalists Castres, Premiership giants Harlequins and the improving London Wasps.

Glasgow head Pool 4 and will take on two French sides in the shape of Montpellier and Toulouse, with Bath completing another tough foursome.

Finally, Pool 5 consists of Premiership winners Northampton Saints, the big-spending Racing Metro, the Ospreys and Italian side Treviso.

European Rugby Champions Cup

Pool 1: Saracens, Munster, Clermont, Sale Sharks
Pool 2: Leinster, Castres, Harlequins, London Wasps
Pool 3: Toulon, Leicester Tigers, Ulster, Scarlets
Pool 4: Glasgow Warriors, Montpellier, Bath, Toulouse
Pool 5: Northampton Saints, Racing Metro, Ospreys, Treviso

  • Ulster Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , December 6
Ulster vs Scarlets19:45
Sunday , December 14
Scarlets vs Ulster17:15
Saturday , January 17
Toulon vs UlsterTBC
Saturday , January 24
Ulster vs LeicesterTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
Guinness PRO12
Friday , November 28
Munster vs Ulster19:35
Saturday , December 20
Ospreys vs Ulster17:15
Saturday , December 27
Ulster vs ConnachtTBC
Saturday , January 3
Leinster vs Ulster14:40
Saturday , January 10
Benetton Treviso vs UlsterTBC
Wednesday, January 14
Ulster vs Benetton TrevisoTBC
More Guinness PRO12 fixtures
  • Ulster Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Guinness PRO12
Friday , November 21
Ulster 25 - 16 OspreysUlster vs Ospreys Report
Saturday , November 1
Ulster 23 - 6 Newport Gwent D'gons
More Guinness PRO12 results
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , October 25
Ulster 13 - 23 Toulon
Saturday , October 18
Leicester 25 - 18 Ulster
More European Rugby Champions Cup results
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , October 11
Ulster 29 - 9 Glasgow
More Guinness PRO12 results
  • Table
Pool 3
European Rugby Champions Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Toulon28
2Scarlets24
3Leicester Tigers24
4Ulster21