Planet Rugby

Ulster

Ulster

Ulster squad depleted by injuries

08th April 2014 12:03

Share:

ruan pienaar ulster

Sidelined: Ruan Pienaar

Four of Ulster's most influential players - including Ruan Pienaar - face lengthy spells on the sidelines as the PRO12 hots up.

Saturday's gut-wrenching 17-15 loss to Saracens at Ravenhill eliminated the province from the Heineken Cup, and the defeat took its toll in more ways than one.

Pienaar suffered a recurrence of the shoulder injury that threatened to curtail his involvement with the quarter-final altogether, and will be out for at least six weeks.

Ireland hooker Rory Best's ankle injury has been described as a "significant sprain" and is set to miss between six and eight weeks of rugby.

Fellow Ireland internationals Roger Wilson and Dan Tuohy suffered a fractured thumb and fractured hand respectively, with the latter set to undergo surgery.

In addition, winger Andrew Trimble was withdrawn from the Sarries clash after picking up a concussion, and must now follow return to play protocols, while prop John Afoa sustained a back injury ruling him out of this weekend's game against Connacht.

Ulster currently sit third in the PRO12, on course for the playoffs, but face a tricky run-in, playing all three teams occupying the other playoff spots after the Connacht derby.

  • Ulster Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , October 25
Ulster vs Toulon13:00
Saturday , December 6
Ulster vs ScarletsTBC
Saturday , December 13
Scarlets vs UlsterTBC
Saturday , January 17
Toulon vs UlsterTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , November 1
Ulster vs Newport Gwent D'gons19:35
Friday , November 21
Ulster vs Ospreys19:35
Friday , November 28
Munster vs Ulster19:35
Saturday , December 20
Ospreys vs Ulster17:15
Saturday , December 27
Ulster vs ConnachtTBC
Saturday , January 3
Leinster vs Ulster14:40
More Guinness PRO12 fixtures
  • Ulster Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , October 18
Leicester 25 - 18 UlsterLeicester vs Ulster Report
More European Rugby Champions Cup results
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , October 11
Ulster 29 - 9 GlasgowUlster vs Glasgow Report
Friday , October 3
Ulster 30 - 0 Edinburgh
Saturday , September 27
Zebre 13 - 6 Ulster
Friday , September 19
Cardiff Blues 9 - 26 Ulster
Friday , September 12
Ulster 33 - 13 Zebre
Saturday , September 6
Scarlets 32 - 32 Ulster
More Guinness PRO12 results
  • Table
Pool 3
European Rugby Champions Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Toulon14
2Leicester Tigers14
3Ulster11
4Scarlets10