Planet Rugby

Ulster

Ulster

Ulster sweat over Pienaar and Best

07th April 2014 10:58

Share:

Ruan Pienaar

In doubt: Ruan Pienaar

Ulster may face a further blow after their Heineken Cup exit as they await updates on the fitness of Ruan Pienaar and Rory Best.

The pair limped off during the 14-man province's 17-15 loss to Saracens on Saturday, and there are fears both may miss Ulster's vital PRO12 run-in as they target a playoff spot.

Pienaar, very much a talisman for Mark Anscombe's side, endured a recurrence of the shoulder injury that had threatened to rule him out of the quarter-final, but played on until just after half-time.

The Springbok scrum-half joined Ireland hooker Best - he himself in a rich vein of form - who was seen on crutches by the sideline after damaging an ankle.

There were also concerns over Kiwi number eight Nick Williams and Ireland flyer Andrew Trimble, who was withdrawn showing signs of concussion and did not return.

  • Ulster Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , October 18
Leicester vs Ulster19:45
Saturday , October 25
Ulster vs Toulon13:00
Saturday , December 6
Ulster vs ScarletsTBC
Saturday , December 13
Scarlets vs UlsterTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
Guinness PRO12
Friday , October 3
Ulster vs Edinburgh19:35
Saturday , October 11
Ulster vs Glasgow17:05
Saturday , November 1
Ulster vs Newport Gwent D'gonsTBC
Friday , November 21
Ulster vs Ospreys19:35
Friday , November 28
Munster vs Ulster19:35
Saturday , December 20
Ospreys vs Ulster17:15
More Guinness PRO12 fixtures
  • Ulster Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , September 27
Zebre 13 - 6 UlsterZebre vs Ulster Report
Friday , September 19
Cardiff Blues 9 - 26 UlsterCardiff Blues vs Ulster Report
Friday , September 12
Ulster 33 - 13 Zebre
Saturday , September 6
Scarlets 32 - 32 Ulster
More Guinness PRO12 results
  • Table
Pool 5
European Rugby Champions Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Ulster626
2Leicester Tigers621
3Montpellier611
4Treviso60