Planet Rugby

Ulster

Ulster

Best eyes European glory

25th March 2014 12:07

Share:

SKY_MOBILE Rory Best Ulster

Determined: Rory Best

Ulster hooker Rory Best is desperate for the province to add the Heineken Cup trophy to Ireland's recent Six Nations triumph.

It was a feat rivals Leinster achieved in 2009, after Ireland claimed an historic Grand Slam in that year's tournament. And Best is confident the men from Belfast can emulate their Dublin counterparts five years on.

"We've seen it in the past with Munster and Leinster," Best told the Belfast Telegraph.

"In 2009 Leinster really used that to catapult themselves forward and they went on to win the European Cup. They had that unbelievable performance against Munster in the semis.

"A lot of that came from having had so many involved in the Grand Slam. The general swagger that you get from having been involved in something like that gives you a huge boost."

The hooker, who enjoyed another sterling Six Nations campaign this year, urged those in the Ulster squad who were part of the national team's glory to transfer their form and intensity to the domestic and European scene.

"We need to bring that confidence back in with us and harness it," added Best.

"Obviously we have to make sure that we're not a little bit over the top with it, but I think - especially from an Ulster point of view - a little bit of confidence isn't a bad thing because too many times we've been almost apologetic for being good.

"I don't think we need to be apologetic any more. We're good because we have good players, but we also have good players who work hard to try and be the best they can."

  • Ulster Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , October 25
Ulster vs Toulon13:00
Saturday , December 6
Ulster vs ScarletsTBC
Saturday , December 13
Scarlets vs UlsterTBC
Saturday , January 17
Toulon vs UlsterTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , November 1
Ulster vs Newport Gwent D'gons19:35
Friday , November 21
Ulster vs Ospreys19:35
Friday , November 28
Munster vs Ulster19:35
Saturday , December 20
Ospreys vs Ulster17:15
Saturday , December 27
Ulster vs ConnachtTBC
Saturday , January 3
Leinster vs Ulster14:40
More Guinness PRO12 fixtures
  • Ulster Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , October 18
Leicester 25 - 18 UlsterLeicester vs Ulster Report
More European Rugby Champions Cup results
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , October 11
Ulster 29 - 9 GlasgowUlster vs Glasgow Report
Friday , October 3
Ulster 30 - 0 Edinburgh
Saturday , September 27
Zebre 13 - 6 Ulster
Friday , September 19
Cardiff Blues 9 - 26 Ulster
Friday , September 12
Ulster 33 - 13 Zebre
Saturday , September 6
Scarlets 32 - 32 Ulster
More Guinness PRO12 results
  • Table
Pool 3
European Rugby Champions Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Toulon14
2Leicester Tigers14
3Ulster11
4Scarlets10