Planet Rugby

Ospreys

Ospreys

Morgan rejected Dragons for Bristol

02nd June 2014 10:30

Share:

SKY_MOBILE Matthew Morgan

Pastures new: Matthew Morgan

Wales fly-half Matthew Morgan has no regrets about signing with Bristol for next season after being selected to tour South Africa.

Morgan was a surprise inclusion for the tour after impressing in the Probables v Possibles trial, with Warren Gatland backing the 20-year-old to flourish on the harder pitches.

Morgan revealed that he had received an offer to join Newport Gwent Dragons before opting to joining Bristol, who are coached by former Ospreys boss Sean Holley.

"It was a bit disappointing from the Ospreys end but I met up with (Bristol management team) Sean Holley and Andy Robinson and it interested me," Morgan told the South Wales Evening Post.

"I like the way Bristol play their rugby. They have blitzed things this season and hopefully they will keep playing that brand of rugby.

"I did have an offer from Newport Gwent Dragons but not the Ospreys. I just decided I wanted a change and a new challenge.

"Because I haven't been in the Welsh set-up before, I thought I had nothing to lose by going to England. I thought I'd just go and give it my best shot."

Bristol were tipped for promotion back to the Premiership but face a mountainous task to overcome their 19-point deficit against London Welsh in the second leg.

  • Ospreys Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , October 25
Northampton vs OspreysNorthampton vs Ospreys Preview
Saturday , December 6
Ospreys vs Racing Metro 9215:15
Saturday , December 13
Racing Metro 92 vs Ospreys17:15
Saturday , January 17
Ospreys vs NorthamptonTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
LV= Cup
Friday , November 7
Ospreys vs Saracens19:35
Friday , November 14
Ospreys vs Newport Gwent D'gons19:35
More LV= Cup fixtures
Guinness PRO12
Friday , October 31
Ospreys vs Connacht19:35
Friday , November 21
Ulster vs Ospreys19:35
Saturday , November 29
Leinster vs Ospreys17:15
Saturday , December 20
Ospreys vs Ulster17:15
More Guinness PRO12 fixtures
  • Ospreys Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Sunday , October 19
Ospreys 42 - 7 Benetton TrevisoOspreys vs Benetton Treviso Report
More European Rugby Champions Cup results
Guinness PRO12
Sunday , October 12
Ospreys 26 - 15 Cardiff BluesOspreys vs Cardiff Blues Report
Friday , October 3
Zebre 14 - 15 Ospreys
Saturday , September 27
Munster 14 - 19 Ospreys
Sunday , September 21
Ospreys 62 - 13 Edinburgh
Friday , September 12
Newport Gwent D'gons 15 - 17 Ospreys
Friday , September 5
Ospreys 44 - 13 Benetton Treviso
More Guinness PRO12 results
  • Table
Pool 5
European Rugby Champions Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Ospreys15
2Racing Metro Paris14
3Northampton10
4Treviso10