Planet Rugby

Ospreys

Ospreys

O'Connor wants Leinster response

10th April 2014 08:35

Share:

matt oconnor leinster

Fixes: Matt O'Connor

Leinster head coach Matt O'Connor has called for his team to bounce back against the Ospreys following their Heineken Cup exit.

The three-time European champions crashed out of this year's tournament with a defeat to Toulon last Sunday.

They remain however in first place in the RaboDirect Pro12 with the season drawing to a close, five points clear of Munster.

With stalwarts Brian O'Driscoll and Leo Cullen both retiring the chance to win one last major trophy is still on the cards.

O'Connor, in his first season since joining from Leicester Tigers, knows that the Ospreys will be fighting to save their own season with a win on Friday in Wales.

"We've played (Ospreys) enough to know enough about them. It's a huge game for them because if they lose they're probably out of it mathematically," said O'Connor.

"From that perspective they'll be doing everything they can to get the result and keep them in it.

"We've got to bounce back and we've got to make sure we fix the things that went wrong on Sunday.

"They're very hard to beat; they're hard to break down at home. They race off the line. They've got a good set piece. They've got a lot of Lions and Welsh internationals.

"We're under no illusions of how good they are at home. We're just going to make sure that we're better."

  • Ospreys Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Sunday , October 19
Ospreys vs Benetton Treviso13:00
Saturday , October 25
Northampton vs Ospreys17:15
Saturday , December 6
Ospreys vs Racing Metro 92TBC
Saturday , December 13
Racing Metro 92 vs OspreysTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
LV= Cup
Saturday , November 1
Ospreys vs Newport Gwent D'gons15:00
Saturday , November 8
Ospreys vs Saracens15:00
More LV= Cup fixtures
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , September 27
Munster vs Ospreys18:30
Friday , October 3
Zebre vs Ospreys19:35
Sunday , October 12
Ospreys vs Cardiff Blues16:00
Friday , October 31
Ospreys vs Connacht19:35
More Guinness PRO12 fixtures
  • Ospreys Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Guinness PRO12
Sunday , September 21
Ospreys 62 - 13 EdinburghOspreys vs Edinburgh Report
Friday , September 12
Newport Gwent D'gons 15 - 17 OspreysNewport Gwent D
Friday , September 5
Ospreys 44 - 13 Benetton Treviso
More Guinness PRO12 results
  • Table
Pool 1
European Rugby Champions Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Leinster622
2Northampton617
3Castres69
4Ospreys65