Planet Rugby

Ospreys

Ospreys

Jones confirms Bristol switch

24th March 2014 14:43

Share:

Ryan Jones Ospreys v Treviso Heineken Cup

Move confirmed: Ryan Jones

Ospreys and former Wales skipper Ryan Jones has confirmed he will leave the region at the end of the season to join Bristol.

Strong rumours that the veteran, who can play second or back-row, would head for the West Country circulated earlier this year.

But on Monday, the Ospreys confirmed the 33-year-old will link up with new boss Andy Robinson come the end of the season, penning a two-year deal.

"This has definitely been the toughest decision I've ever had to make, but it's one that I'm making for my family," said Jones.

"I've had a fantastic 10 years with the Ospreys and will leave with so many good memories to treasure. I'm immensely proud of everything we've achieved as a group, with five trophies to look back on, and that success has enabled me to enjoy significant success at international level as well. It's truly been a fantastic journey.

"I've got so many good friends here, and I'm extremely grateful to all the team-mates, coaches, management and directors at the Ospreys for their backing over the last 10 years. Most importantly of all, I'd like to say a very big thank you to the magnificent supporters at the Liberty Stadium who have always been fantastic to me."

  • Ospreys Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , October 25
Northampton vs Ospreys17:15
Saturday , December 6
Ospreys vs Racing Metro 9215:15
Saturday , December 13
Racing Metro 92 vs Ospreys17:15
Saturday , January 17
Ospreys vs NorthamptonTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
LV= Cup
Friday , November 7
Ospreys vs Saracens19:35
Friday , November 14
Ospreys vs Newport Gwent D'gons19:35
More LV= Cup fixtures
Guinness PRO12
Friday , October 31
Ospreys vs Connacht19:35
Friday , November 21
Ulster vs Ospreys19:35
Saturday , November 29
Leinster vs Ospreys17:15
Saturday , December 20
Ospreys vs Ulster17:15
More Guinness PRO12 fixtures
  • Ospreys Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Sunday , October 19
Ospreys 42 - 7 Benetton TrevisoOspreys vs Benetton Treviso Report
More European Rugby Champions Cup results
Guinness PRO12
Sunday , October 12
Ospreys 26 - 15 Cardiff BluesOspreys vs Cardiff Blues Report
Friday , October 3
Zebre 14 - 15 Ospreys
Saturday , September 27
Munster 14 - 19 Ospreys
Sunday , September 21
Ospreys 62 - 13 Edinburgh
Friday , September 12
Newport Gwent D'gons 15 - 17 Ospreys
Friday , September 5
Ospreys 44 - 13 Benetton Treviso
More Guinness PRO12 results
  • Table
Pool 5
European Rugby Champions Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Ospreys15
2Racing Metro Paris14
3Northampton10
4Treviso10