Planet Rugby

Scarlets

Scarlets

Wales left to sweat over Priestland

11th May 2014 14:44

Share:

rhys priestland scarlets

Concern: Rhys Priestland

Wales could be without fly-half Rhys Priestland for next month's tour to South Africa after he was injured playing for the Scarlets.

In the final match of the regular Pro12 season, Priestland was forced off in the 27-15 win over Cardiff Blues.

The 27-year-old lost his place to Dan Biggar at the end of the Six Nations but would have been expected to tour with Wales in June.

Priestland suffered a knee injury and leaving him behind would be another blow for Warren Gatland after losing Sam Warburton, Justin Tipuric and Leigh Halfpenny.

"It looked like a medial ligament injury, but it's difficult to assess the severity of it at the moment," Easterby told the South Wales Evening Post.

"It was disappointing because Rhys was playing really well. He had set up a couple of tries and just looked like he was enjoying himself out there.

"It is disappointing it happened so close to the end and it could possibly hamper his chances of making the summer tour."

  • Scarlets Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , December 6
Ulster vs ScarletsTBC
Saturday , December 13
Scarlets vs UlsterTBC
Saturday , January 17
Leicester vs ScarletsTBC
Saturday , January 24
Scarlets vs ToulonTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
LV= Cup
Friday , November 7
Scarlets vs Northampton19:30
Friday , November 14
Cardiff Blues vs Scarlets19:30
More LV= Cup fixtures
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , November 1
Scarlets vs Zebre18:00
Friday , November 21
Scarlets vs Glasgow19:35
Saturday , November 29
Connacht vs Scarlets19:30
Friday , December 19
Cardiff Blues vs Scarlets19:35
More Guinness PRO12 fixtures
  • Scarlets Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , October 25
Scarlets 15 - 3 LeicesterScarlets vs Leicester Report
Sunday , October 19
Toulon 28 - 18 ScarletsToulon vs Scarlets Report
More European Rugby Champions Cup results
Guinness PRO12
Friday , October 10
Munster 17 - 6 Scarlets
Sunday , October 5
Scarlets 26 - 13 Newport Gwent D'gons
Friday , September 26
Edinburgh 20 - 20 Scarlets
Saturday , September 20
Scarlets 43 - 0 Benetton Treviso
Saturday , September 13
Leinster 42 - 12 Scarlets
More Guinness PRO12 results
  • Table
Pool 3
European Rugby Champions Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Toulon28
2Scarlets24
3Leicester Tigers24
4Ulster21