Planet Rugby

Scarlets

Scarlets

Williams backed by Easterby

20th March 2014 10:48

Share:

Wales back Liam Williams reaching for ball

Took his chance: Williams

Scarlets head coach Simon Easterby believes full-back Liam Williams can mount a serious challenge to Leigh Halfpenny's Welsh jersey this year.

The 22-year-old, who was excellent in victory over Scotland, took over the number fifteen shirt due to Halfpenny dislocating his shoulder in Round 4.

Halfpenny will now miss the June Tests against South Africa and boss Easterby is adamant that Williams has shown enough to lock down a spot.

"He came through as we expected really with flying colours," he told BBC Sport on Thursday.

"[He] really gave the selectors, longer term, something to think about.

"He's been great for us all season but he hasn't had much opportunity for Wales," he added.

"Unfortunately for Halfpenny he gets injured against England and the door opens for Liam to show exactly what he can do.

"He was outstanding and involved with a lot of the positive stuff that happened in the Scottish match."

  • Scarlets Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Sunday , October 19
Toulon vs Scarlets15:15
Saturday , October 25
Scarlets vs Leicester19:45
Saturday , December 6
Ulster vs ScarletsTBC
Saturday , December 13
Scarlets vs UlsterTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
LV= Cup
Saturday , November 1
Cardiff Blues vs Scarlets15:00
Saturday , November 8
Scarlets vs Northampton15:00
More LV= Cup fixtures
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , September 20
Scarlets vs Benetton Treviso18:00
Friday , September 26
Edinburgh vs Scarlets19:35
Sunday , October 5
Scarlets vs Newport Gwent D'gons16:00
Friday , October 10
Munster vs Scarlets19:35
More Guinness PRO12 fixtures
  • Scarlets Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , September 13
Leinster 42 - 12 ScarletsLeinster vs Scarlets Report
Saturday , September 6
Scarlets 32 - 32 UlsterScarlets vs Ulster Report
More Guinness PRO12 results
  • Table
Pool 4
European Rugby Champions Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Clermont Auvergne624
2Harlequins616
3Scarlets611
4Racing Metro Paris67