Planet Rugby

Dragons

Dragons

Adam Jones announces retirement

26th March 2014 15:17

Share:

Adam Jones Newport Gwent Dragons

Calling time: Adam Jones

Veteran Dragons and Wales second-row Adam Jones announced his retirement from rugby, effective immediately, on Wednesday.

The 34-year-old, who is originally from Swansea, has made 127 appearances for the region since joining from the Scarlets in 2007.

"I would like to thank everyone at Rodney Parade, who have made my time such an enjoyable experience and helping me to further my rugby career," said Jones.

"I have been with the Dragons since 2007 and have been playing professionally for about 16 years. I have definitely watched the squad grow throughout the years and having their ups and downs, season to season. But with the likes of Lyn Jones here I think that it's a step in the right direction.

"I can see the club becoming one of the best clubs in Wales and am disappointed to be leaving at this time."

  • Dragons Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
LV= Cup
Friday , November 7
Harlequins vs Newport Gwent D'gons19:45
Friday , November 14
Ospreys vs Newport Gwent D'gons19:35
More LV= Cup fixtures
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , November 1
Ulster vs Newport Gwent D'gonsUlster vs Newport Gwent D
Friday , November 21
Newport Gwent D'gons vs Munster19:30
Sunday , November 30
Glasgow vs Newport Gwent D'gons16:00
Sunday , December 21
Newport Gwent D'gons vs Zebre16:00
Friday , December 26
Cardiff Blues vs Newport Gwent D'gons14:05
Sunday , January 11
Ospreys vs Newport Gwent D'gons16:00
Wednesday, January 14
Leinster vs Newport Gwent D'gonsTBC
More Guinness PRO12 fixtures
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Saturday , December 6
Bucuresti vs Newport Gwent D'gonsTBC
More European Rugby Challenge Cup fixtures
  • Dragons Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Friday , October 24
Newport Gwent D'gons 26 - 30 Newcastle
Saturday , October 18
Stade Francais 22 - 38 Newport Gwent D'gons
More European Rugby Challenge Cup results
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , October 11
Edinburgh 24 - 10 Newport Gwent D'gonsEdinburgh vs Newport Gwent D
Sunday , October 5
Scarlets 26 - 13 Newport Gwent D'gons
Sunday , September 28
Newport Gwent D'gons 33 - 15 Benetton Treviso
Saturday , September 20
Newport Gwent D'gons 13 - 33 Glasgow
Friday , September 12
Newport Gwent D'gons 15 - 17 Ospreys
More Guinness PRO12 results
  • Table
Group A
LV= Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Saracens416
2Gloucester410
3London Irish46
4Dragons44