Planet Rugby

Glasgow

Glasgow

Shoulder injury sidelines Welsh

28th July 2014 16:04

Share:

jon welsh glasgow warriors

Setback: Jon Welsh

Glasgow Warriors prop Jon Welsh has undergone shoulder surgery and is expected to be out of action for the first few months of the season.

The 27-year-old had the operation to fix a recurring shoulder problem.

"We're disappointed for Jon that he's going to miss the first few weeks of the new season," said Glasgow Warriors head coach Gregor Townsend.

"He played a lot of rugby for us last season and he worked hard to become a consistent performer.

"His recent surgery will allow him to train fully on his return and play even better next season. We wish him all the best in his recovery period."

Welsh has won three caps for Scotland and is just short of a century for Glasgow, currently on 96.

  • Glasgow Warriors Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , December 6
Toulouse vs GlasgowTBC
Saturday , December 13
Glasgow vs Toulouse13:00
Saturday , January 17
Glasgow vs MontpellierTBC
Saturday , January 24
Bath vs GlasgowTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
Guinness PRO12
Friday , November 21
Scarlets vs Glasgow19:35
Sunday , November 30
Glasgow vs Newport Gwent D'gons16:00
Saturday , December 20
Glasgow vs Munster14:40
Saturday , December 27
Glasgow vs Edinburgh14:40
Friday , January 9
Glasgow vs Scarlets19:35
Wednesday, January 14
Zebre vs GlasgowTBC
More Guinness PRO12 fixtures
  • Glasgow Warriors Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Guinness PRO12
Friday , October 31
Glasgow 17 - 9 Benetton TrevisoGlasgow vs Benetton Treviso Report
More Guinness PRO12 results
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , October 25
Montpellier 13 - 15 GlasgowMontpellier vs Glasgow Report
Saturday , October 18
Glasgow 37 - 10 BathGlasgow vs Bath Report
More European Rugby Champions Cup results
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , October 11
Ulster 29 - 9 GlasgowUlster vs Glasgow Report
Sunday , October 5
Benetton Treviso 23 - 40 Glasgow
Friday , September 26
Glasgow 39 - 21 Connacht
Saturday , September 20
Newport Gwent D'gons 13 - 33 Glasgow
Sunday , September 14
Cardiff Blues 12 - 33 Glasgow
More Guinness PRO12 results
  • Table
Pool 4
European Rugby Champions Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Glasgow Warriors29
2Toulouse28
3Montpellier22
4Bath21