Planet Rugby

Glasgow

Glasgow

Shoulder injury sidelines Welsh

28th July 2014 16:04

Share:

jon welsh glasgow warriors

Setback: Jon Welsh

Glasgow Warriors prop Jon Welsh has undergone shoulder surgery and is expected to be out of action for the first few months of the season.

The 27-year-old had the operation to fix a recurring shoulder problem.

"We're disappointed for Jon that he's going to miss the first few weeks of the new season," said Glasgow Warriors head coach Gregor Townsend.

"He played a lot of rugby for us last season and he worked hard to become a consistent performer.

"His recent surgery will allow him to train fully on his return and play even better next season. We wish him all the best in his recovery period."

Welsh has won three caps for Scotland and is just short of a century for Glasgow, currently on 96.

  • Glasgow Warriors Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , October 18
Glasgow vs Bath15:15
Saturday , October 25
Montpellier vs Glasgow17:15
Saturday , December 6
Toulouse vs GlasgowTBC
Saturday , December 13
Glasgow vs ToulouseTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
Guinness PRO12
Friday , September 26
Glasgow vs Connacht19:35
Sunday , October 5
Benetton Treviso vs Glasgow15:00
Saturday , October 11
Ulster vs Glasgow17:05
Friday , October 31
Glasgow vs Benetton Treviso19:35
Friday , November 21
Scarlets vs Glasgow19:35
Sunday , November 30
Glasgow vs Newport Gwent D'gons16:00
More Guinness PRO12 fixtures
  • Glasgow Warriors Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , September 20
Newport Gwent D'gons 13 - 33 GlasgowNewport Gwent D
Sunday , September 14
Cardiff Blues 12 - 33 GlasgowCardiff Blues vs Glasgow Report
Saturday , September 6
Glasgow 22 - 20 Leinster
More Guinness PRO12 results
  • Table
Pool 2
European Rugby Champions Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Toulon624
2Cardiff Blues614
3Exeter612
4Glasgow Warriors611