Planet Rugby

Glasgow

Glasgow

Pro12 title on Hogg's wishlist

28th July 2014 12:30

Share:

stuart hogg scotland

Focus: Stuart Hogg

Having participated for his country in the Commonwealth Games, Stuart Hogg has now turned his attention back to Glasgow Warriors.

Hogg's future with the Scottish side was subject to speculation at the end of last season, when his lack of involvement prompted talk of a move to Ulster.

The 22-year-old endured a difficult campaign internationally also with Scotland, including being sent off at the Millennium Stadium.

Moving forward, Hogg insists the objectives for Glasgow remain the same as last season, when they reached the Pro12 Final for the first time.

"Next season we've just got to do the same as last year. We targeted being the first Scottish team to win the league and I believe next season will be no different," Hogg told the club's website.

"Over the last three seasons we've been improving every week and we're in a good place just now.

"I believe the boys have been working incredibly hard during pre-season training and it all starts from there and hopefully we can go one better and win the title next season."

Amongst the new signings for Glasgow is former Northampton and Munster centre James Downey, with Hogg relieved to have the hard-carrying centre on his side.

"It's always good to get new faces into the club and new friends and at the end of the day it's another player in the team who can add something and I'm excited to see what they can offer," added Hogg.

"I've had a few nightmares in the past playing against James (Downey) with him running down my channel, so it'll be good to play off him.

"He's a strong ball carrier and it's exciting to have the chance to play with him next season."

  • Glasgow Warriors Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , October 25
Montpellier vs Glasgow17:15
Saturday , December 6
Toulouse vs GlasgowTBC
Saturday , December 13
Glasgow vs Toulouse13:00
Saturday , January 17
Glasgow vs MontpellierTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
Guinness PRO12
Friday , October 31
Glasgow vs Benetton Treviso19:35
Friday , November 21
Scarlets vs Glasgow19:35
Sunday , November 30
Glasgow vs Newport Gwent D'gons16:00
Saturday , December 20
Glasgow vs Munster14:40
Saturday , December 27
Glasgow vs Edinburgh14:40
Friday , January 9
Glasgow vs Scarlets19:35
More Guinness PRO12 fixtures
  • Glasgow Warriors Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , October 18
Glasgow 37 - 10 BathGlasgow vs Bath Report
More European Rugby Champions Cup results
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , October 11
Ulster 29 - 9 GlasgowUlster vs Glasgow Report
Sunday , October 5
Benetton Treviso 23 - 40 Glasgow
Friday , September 26
Glasgow 39 - 21 Connacht
Saturday , September 20
Newport Gwent D'gons 13 - 33 Glasgow
Sunday , September 14
Cardiff Blues 12 - 33 Glasgow
Saturday , September 6
Glasgow 22 - 20 Leinster
More Guinness PRO12 results
  • Table
Pool 4
European Rugby Champions Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Glasgow Warriors15
2Toulouse14
3Montpellier11
4Bath10