Planet Rugby

Glasgow

Glasgow

Glasgow star has conviction quashed

16th July 2014 18:02

Share:

Cleared: DTH van der Merwe

Glasgow Warriors winger DTH van der Merwe has had a conviction for assault quashed and been given 'an absolute discharge'.

The Canadian international was involved in an incident back in October 2011 with John Ross, 26, in which he punched Ross after being spat on.

Three judges at the Justiciary Appeal Court in Edinburgh overturned the decision, so van der Merwe will be left with no conviction according to the BBC.

"In our view, the act of spitting constituted an assault. In our view it did constitute a significant provocative act," said the Senior Judge.

"We have come to the view that the appropriate course to adopt is to grant an absolute discharge."

Van der Merwe missed the latter part of the Pro12 season through injury, but is contracted with the Warriors until 2015.

  • Glasgow Warriors Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , October 18
Glasgow vs Bath15:15
Saturday , October 25
Montpellier vs Glasgow17:15
Saturday , December 6
Toulouse vs GlasgowTBC
Saturday , December 13
Glasgow vs ToulouseTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
Guinness PRO12
Friday , September 26
Glasgow vs Connacht19:35
Sunday , October 5
Benetton Treviso vs Glasgow15:00
Saturday , October 11
Ulster vs Glasgow17:05
Friday , October 31
Glasgow vs Benetton Treviso19:35
Friday , November 21
Scarlets vs Glasgow19:35
Sunday , November 30
Glasgow vs Newport Gwent D'gons16:00
More Guinness PRO12 fixtures
  • Glasgow Warriors Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , September 20
Newport Gwent D'gons 13 - 33 GlasgowNewport Gwent D
Sunday , September 14
Cardiff Blues 12 - 33 GlasgowCardiff Blues vs Glasgow Report
Saturday , September 6
Glasgow 22 - 20 Leinster
More Guinness PRO12 results
  • Table
Pool 2
European Rugby Champions Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Toulon624
2Cardiff Blues614
3Exeter612
4Glasgow Warriors611