Planet Rugby

Glasgow

Glasgow

History not enough for Glasgow

12th May 2014 18:44

Share:

Glasgow v Cardiff Ryan Grant

Hunger: Ryan Grant

Glasgow and Scotland prop Ryan Grant has stated that reaching a home semi-final for the first time isn't enough for this year's squad.

Having become the first Scottish team to make a home Pro12 semi-final, the Warriors are well placed for a run at the title ahead of Munster's visit on Friday.

Glasgow wrapped up the regular season with a 54-0 win over Zebre at Scotstoun, capping off a fine campaign in which they have won 18 of their 22 matches.

But Grant admits that winning the title now has to happen for Gregor Townsend's side after years of preparation.

"We have made history, but that's not enough," said Grant. "We want to win it and we need to win it.

"It's three years we've been building towards this. Everything is in place; it's our task to get the job done.

"It's huge, we've been in the semi-finals twice and it's tough playing away from home, but you can hear the crowd and they've been tremendous for us in the last few weeks.

"We have every chance of making the final. We've had a long history of aggressive battles against Munster and this one will be no different, the boys love it and will look forward to it.

"We knew we had a job to do against Zebre, and what was on the line. All the boys wanted it and we are all playing for our spot next week."

  • Glasgow Warriors Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , December 6
Toulouse vs GlasgowTBC
Saturday , December 13
Glasgow vs Toulouse13:00
Saturday , January 17
Glasgow vs MontpellierTBC
Saturday , January 24
Bath vs GlasgowTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
Guinness PRO12
Friday , October 31
Glasgow vs Benetton Treviso19:35
Friday , November 21
Scarlets vs Glasgow19:35
Sunday , November 30
Glasgow vs Newport Gwent D'gons16:00
Saturday , December 20
Glasgow vs Munster14:40
Saturday , December 27
Glasgow vs Edinburgh14:40
Friday , January 9
Glasgow vs Scarlets19:35
More Guinness PRO12 fixtures
  • Glasgow Warriors Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , October 25
Montpellier 13 - 15 GlasgowMontpellier vs Glasgow Report
Saturday , October 18
Glasgow 37 - 10 BathGlasgow vs Bath Report
More European Rugby Champions Cup results
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , October 11
Ulster 29 - 9 GlasgowUlster vs Glasgow Report
Sunday , October 5
Benetton Treviso 23 - 40 Glasgow
Friday , September 26
Glasgow 39 - 21 Connacht
Saturday , September 20
Newport Gwent D'gons 13 - 33 Glasgow
Sunday , September 14
Cardiff Blues 12 - 33 Glasgow
Saturday , September 6
Glasgow 22 - 20 Leinster
More Guinness PRO12 results
  • Table
Pool 4
European Rugby Champions Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Glasgow Warriors29
2Toulouse28
3Montpellier22
4Bath21