Planet Rugby

Glasgow

Glasgow

Townsend not taking Zebre lightly

06th May 2014 09:29

Share:

SKY_MOBILE Gregor Townsend - Glasgow v Toulon

Gregor Townsend: Wary of Zebre

Glagsow Warriors boss Gregor Townsend has warned his charges not to underestimate Zebre ahead of Saturday's clash at Scotstoun.

Townsend is wary that Zebre's superb form could prevent his side from securing their first-ever home PRO12 semi-final. The Warriors are currently in second spot on the table, behind Leinster, but will be looking over their shoulders as Munster lie one point behind.

A bonus-point victory will secure the Warriors a home semi-final but Zebre will be no pushovers and head into this match on a high after claiming consecutive victories over Edinburgh and Ospreys.

And with Zebre battling Treviso for a spot in next season's Heineken Cup, Townsend knows his side's opponents will be just as motivated as his troops to secure victory this weekend.

"In their last two games Zebre have beaten both Edinburgh and Ospreys and that underlines the threat they will bring with them on Saturday," he told the Glasgow Evening Times.

"They are playing with confidence and they are scoring freely and they will be determined to finish above Treviso and try to claim a European place for next season.

"We will have to make sure we are every bit as professional as we were at Treviso. That was one of the best performances of our season and we must maintain these standards."

  • Glasgow Warriors Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , December 6
Toulouse vs GlasgowTBC
Saturday , December 13
Glasgow vs Toulouse13:00
Saturday , January 17
Glasgow vs MontpellierTBC
Saturday , January 24
Bath vs GlasgowTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
Guinness PRO12
Friday , October 31
Glasgow vs Benetton TrevisoGlasgow vs Benetton Treviso Preview
Friday , November 21
Scarlets vs Glasgow19:35
Sunday , November 30
Glasgow vs Newport Gwent D'gons16:00
Saturday , December 20
Glasgow vs Munster14:40
Saturday , December 27
Glasgow vs Edinburgh14:40
Friday , January 9
Glasgow vs Scarlets19:35
More Guinness PRO12 fixtures
  • Glasgow Warriors Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , October 25
Montpellier 13 - 15 GlasgowMontpellier vs Glasgow Report
Saturday , October 18
Glasgow 37 - 10 BathGlasgow vs Bath Report
More European Rugby Champions Cup results
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , October 11
Ulster 29 - 9 GlasgowUlster vs Glasgow Report
Sunday , October 5
Benetton Treviso 23 - 40 Glasgow
Friday , September 26
Glasgow 39 - 21 Connacht
Saturday , September 20
Newport Gwent D'gons 13 - 33 Glasgow
Sunday , September 14
Cardiff Blues 12 - 33 Glasgow
More Guinness PRO12 results
  • Table
Pool 4
European Rugby Champions Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Glasgow Warriors29
2Toulouse28
3Montpellier22
4Bath21