Planet Rugby

Glasgow

Glasgow

Scrum-half to re-join Glasgow

16th April 2014 09:08

Share:

SKY_MOBILE Gregor Townsend - Glasgow v Toulon

Adding to squad: Townsend

Glasgow Warriors have announced the signing of scrum-half and former Elite Development player Murray McConnell on a deal from 2014/15.

McConnell made two appearances for the club between 2010 and 2013 in the PRO12 before starring for Ayr in the RBS Premiership this year.

"I'm looking forward to returning to Scotstoun as a professional player, after being part of the Elite Development Programme last season," he said.

"Niko (Matawalu) and Henry (Pyrgos) are two very good scrum-halves and I know I can learn a lot from them.

"I'm ambitious and I want to play at as high a level as possible and I'll get that opportunity at Scotstoun. It's an exciting time to be re-joining the club," he added, speaking to GlasgowWarriors.org.

Glasgow Warriors head coach Gregor Townsend said: "Murray has been training with us this season so he'll fit straight in when he joins us on a full-time basis in the summer.

"He's had a very good season with Ayr and we've been following his progress closely. He'll be an excellent addition to our squad."

  • Glasgow Warriors Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , December 6
Toulouse vs GlasgowTBC
Saturday , December 13
Glasgow vs Toulouse13:00
Saturday , January 17
Glasgow vs MontpellierTBC
Saturday , January 24
Bath vs GlasgowTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
Guinness PRO12
Friday , November 21
Scarlets vs Glasgow19:35
Sunday , November 30
Glasgow vs Newport Gwent D'gons16:00
Saturday , December 20
Glasgow vs Munster14:40
Saturday , December 27
Glasgow vs Edinburgh14:40
Friday , January 9
Glasgow vs Scarlets19:35
Wednesday, January 14
Zebre vs GlasgowTBC
More Guinness PRO12 fixtures
  • Glasgow Warriors Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Guinness PRO12
Friday , October 31
Glasgow 17 - 9 Benetton TrevisoGlasgow vs Benetton Treviso Report
More Guinness PRO12 results
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , October 25
Montpellier 13 - 15 GlasgowMontpellier vs Glasgow Report
Saturday , October 18
Glasgow 37 - 10 BathGlasgow vs Bath Report
More European Rugby Champions Cup results
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , October 11
Ulster 29 - 9 GlasgowUlster vs Glasgow Report
Sunday , October 5
Benetton Treviso 23 - 40 Glasgow
Friday , September 26
Glasgow 39 - 21 Connacht
Saturday , September 20
Newport Gwent D'gons 13 - 33 Glasgow
Sunday , September 14
Cardiff Blues 12 - 33 Glasgow
More Guinness PRO12 results
  • Table
Pool 4
European Rugby Champions Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Glasgow Warriors29
2Toulouse28
3Montpellier22
4Bath21