Planet Rugby

Glasgow

Glasgow

Cross loaned to Glasgow

19th March 2014 16:39

Share:

Geoff Cross for Edinburgh

Moving: Geoff Cross

Edinburgh tighthead prop Geoff Cross has been loaned to Glasgow until the end of the campaign following injuries to both Mike Cusack and Ed Kalman.

The news comes following confirmation that the Scotland international is leaving Edinburgh at the end of 2013/14, which was one reason why Alan Solomons allowed prop Cross to be loaned out.

"There comes a time in a player's career, especially when you've been at a club for a long period, that you realise you could benefit from something fresh and new, and Geoff [Cross] has secured such an opportunity at a new club," head coach Solomons informed Edinburgh's website.

"He has been a great servant of Edinburgh for a number of years and we wish him all the very best."

Speaking on the loan move, Solomons added: "Glasgow are in a situation where they have only two fit tighthead props (Moray Low and Jon Welsh).

"They approached us for senior cover in what is an extremely important position, and requested Geoff Cross on loan.

"We agreed to assist them and, in view of the fact that the cut off registration date was midnight last night (Tuesday), we agreed to assist them with emergency, senior cover with immediate effect."

  • Glasgow Warriors Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , October 18
Glasgow vs Bath15:15
Saturday , October 25
Montpellier vs Glasgow17:15
Saturday , December 6
Toulouse vs GlasgowTBC
Saturday , December 13
Glasgow vs ToulouseTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
Guinness PRO12
Sunday , October 5
Benetton Treviso vs Glasgow14:00
Saturday , October 11
Ulster vs Glasgow17:05
Friday , October 31
Glasgow vs Benetton Treviso19:35
Friday , November 21
Scarlets vs Glasgow19:35
Sunday , November 30
Glasgow vs Newport Gwent D'gons16:00
Saturday , December 20
Glasgow vs Munster14:40
More Guinness PRO12 fixtures
  • Glasgow Warriors Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Guinness PRO12
Friday , September 26
Glasgow 39 - 21 ConnachtGlasgow vs Connacht Report
Saturday , September 20
Newport Gwent D'gons 13 - 33 GlasgowNewport Gwent D
Sunday , September 14
Cardiff Blues 12 - 33 Glasgow
Saturday , September 6
Glasgow 22 - 20 Leinster
More Guinness PRO12 results
  • Table
Pool 2
European Rugby Champions Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Toulon624
2Cardiff Blues614
3Exeter612
4Glasgow Warriors611