Planet Rugby

Glasgow

Glasgow

Townsend proud in spite of loss

02nd March 2014 11:35

Share:

SKY_MOBILE Gregor Townsend Glasgow Warriors

Proud: Gregor Townsend

Glasgow Warriors boss Gregor Townsend was proud of his side's efforts as they fell to a narrow 28-25 defeat to Leinster in Dublin.

Both teams scored three tries apiece on Saturday at the RDS, with a Rhys Ruddock five-pointer from the hosts ultimately proving decisive.

Converted centre Richie Vernon bagged a double for Townsend's men, and the former Scotland record-appearance holder was pleased despite the result.

"It was a cracking game with two very good sides going at each other for 80 minutes in difficult conditions and there were some great tries scored," said Townsend.

"I was very proud of the players, the way they took the initiative in attack and really took the game to Leinster and especially how we defended with real effort going in and some big tackles being made to defend our line.

"It's disappointing we didn't come away with a win but we've gone up against the defending champions, really put them under pressure and scored a couple of good tries.

"We've got to learn how to make the most of our opportunities but I was very pleased with the performance and it sets us up well with eight games remaining, six of which are at home."

  • Glasgow Warriors Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , December 6
Toulouse vs GlasgowTBC
Saturday , December 13
Glasgow vs Toulouse13:00
Saturday , January 17
Glasgow vs MontpellierTBC
Saturday , January 24
Bath vs GlasgowTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
Guinness PRO12
Friday , October 31
Glasgow vs Benetton TrevisoGlasgow vs Benetton Treviso Preview
Friday , November 21
Scarlets vs Glasgow19:35
Sunday , November 30
Glasgow vs Newport Gwent D'gons16:00
Saturday , December 20
Glasgow vs Munster14:40
Saturday , December 27
Glasgow vs Edinburgh14:40
Friday , January 9
Glasgow vs Scarlets19:35
More Guinness PRO12 fixtures
  • Glasgow Warriors Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , October 25
Montpellier 13 - 15 GlasgowMontpellier vs Glasgow Report
Saturday , October 18
Glasgow 37 - 10 BathGlasgow vs Bath Report
More European Rugby Champions Cup results
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , October 11
Ulster 29 - 9 GlasgowUlster vs Glasgow Report
Sunday , October 5
Benetton Treviso 23 - 40 Glasgow
Friday , September 26
Glasgow 39 - 21 Connacht
Saturday , September 20
Newport Gwent D'gons 13 - 33 Glasgow
Sunday , September 14
Cardiff Blues 12 - 33 Glasgow
More Guinness PRO12 results
  • Table
Pool 4
European Rugby Champions Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Glasgow Warriors29
2Toulouse28
3Montpellier22
4Bath21