Planet Rugby

Edinburgh

Edinburgh

Cross loaned to Glasgow

19th March 2014 16:39

Share:

Geoff Cross for Edinburgh

Moving: Geoff Cross

Edinburgh tighthead prop Geoff Cross has been loaned to Glasgow until the end of the campaign following injuries to both Mike Cusack and Ed Kalman.

The news comes following confirmation that the Scotland international is leaving Edinburgh at the end of 2013/14, which was one reason why Alan Solomons allowed prop Cross to be loaned out.

"There comes a time in a player's career, especially when you've been at a club for a long period, that you realise you could benefit from something fresh and new, and Geoff [Cross] has secured such an opportunity at a new club," head coach Solomons informed Edinburgh's website.

"He has been a great servant of Edinburgh for a number of years and we wish him all the very best."

Speaking on the loan move, Solomons added: "Glasgow are in a situation where they have only two fit tighthead props (Moray Low and Jon Welsh).

"They approached us for senior cover in what is an extremely important position, and requested Geoff Cross on loan.

"We agreed to assist them and, in view of the fact that the cut off registration date was midnight last night (Tuesday), we agreed to assist them with emergency, senior cover with immediate effect."

  • Edinburgh Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Guinness PRO12
Friday , October 3
Ulster vs Edinburgh19:35
Saturday , October 11
Edinburgh vs Newport Gwent D'gons14:40
Friday , October 31
Leinster vs Edinburgh19:35
Sunday , November 23
Edinburgh vs Cardiff Blues16:00
Saturday , November 29
Zebre vs Edinburgh16:00
Friday , December 19
Edinburgh vs Benetton Treviso19:35
Saturday , December 27
Glasgow vs Edinburgh14:40
More Guinness PRO12 fixtures
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Friday , October 17
Bordeaux-Begles vs Edinburgh19:00
Friday , October 24
Edinburgh vs LOU Rugby19:45
Saturday , December 6
Edinburgh vs London WelshTBC
More European Rugby Challenge Cup fixtures
  • Edinburgh Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Guinness PRO12
Friday , September 26
Edinburgh 20 - 20 ScarletsEdinburgh vs Scarlets Report
Sunday , September 21
Ospreys 62 - 13 EdinburghOspreys vs Edinburgh Report
Friday , September 12
Edinburgh 13 - 14 Connacht
Friday , September 5
Munster 13 - 14 Edinburgh
More Guinness PRO12 results
  • Table
Pool 6
European Rugby Champions Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Munster623
2Gloucester614
3Edinburgh612
4Perpignan67