Planet Rugby

Edinburgh

Edinburgh

Edinburgh hint at permanent move

02nd March 2014 11:42

Share:

Alan Solomons

Pleased: Alan Solomons

After enjoying a fine atmosphere and performance to match at Meggetland on Friday, Edinburgh may consider a permanent move.

With the Murrayfield turf in need of TLC, Edinburgh shifted to Meggetland - home of Boroughmuir RFC - for Friday's clash with the Ospreys, a game they won 31-25.

The Daily Record reports that, although the match was intended as a one-off to offer the national stadium some much-needed respite, Edinburgh bosses may look to make the move permanent

The stadium holds around 3,000, and was unsurprisingly sold-out for the visit of the pro team. The crowd were treated to an impressive performance from their team, with the Ospreys lucky to escape with a losing bonus point.

Head coach Alan Solomons praised the home support, and was delighted to get back to winning ways after a hat-trick of frustrating losses.

"The atmosphere was very, very good - the players felt it and were talking about it," said Solomons.

"The spectators are close to the action and it definitely creates something.

"With so many new players, it was always going to take a few games to get things ticking.

"We had played okay in the previous couple of games but lost them both.

"This was another improvement. To get a result like that against a very strong Ospreys side was outstanding."

  • Edinburgh Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Guinness PRO12
Friday , October 31
Leinster vs EdinburghLeinster vs Edinburgh Preview
Sunday , November 23
Edinburgh vs Cardiff Blues16:00
Saturday , November 29
Zebre vs Edinburgh16:00
Friday , December 19
Edinburgh vs Benetton Treviso19:35
Saturday , December 27
Glasgow vs Edinburgh14:40
Friday , January 9
Connacht vs Edinburgh19:35
Wednesday, January 14
Edinburgh vs OspreysTBC
More Guinness PRO12 fixtures
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Saturday , December 6
Edinburgh vs London WelshTBC
Saturday , December 13
London Welsh vs EdinburghTBC
Saturday , January 17
LOU Rugby vs EdinburghTBC
More European Rugby Challenge Cup fixtures
  • Edinburgh Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Friday , October 24
Edinburgh 25 - 17 LOU Rugby
Friday , October 17
Bordeaux-Begles 13 - 15 EdinburghBordeaux-Begles vs Edinburgh Report
More European Rugby Challenge Cup results
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , October 11
Edinburgh 24 - 10 Newport Gwent D'gonsEdinburgh vs Newport Gwent D
Friday , October 3
Ulster 30 - 0 Edinburgh
Friday , September 26
Edinburgh 20 - 20 Scarlets
Sunday , September 21
Ospreys 62 - 13 Edinburgh
Friday , September 12
Edinburgh 13 - 14 Connacht
More Guinness PRO12 results
  • Table
Guinness PRO12 Table
PosTeamPPts
6Leinster616
7Scarlets614
8Edinburgh611
9Dragons67
10Cardiff Blues67