Planet Rugby

Cardiff Blues

Cardiff Blues

Joseph linked with Cardiff position

03rd April 2014 08:48

Share:

Highlanders boss Jamie Joseph has been linked with the vacant director of rugby position with the Welsh region Cardiff Blues.

Joseph, whose contract with the Highlanders finishes at the end of the current Super Rugby season, wouldn't confirm whether he is considering his options beyond the Dunedin-based franchise's campaign.

The Cardiff job has been vacant since the beginning of March after Phil Davies resigned.

Joseph said ahead of Friday's clash with the Rebels in Dunedin that his options beyond his current contract is not a priority for him at the moment.

"My focus is solely on the Highlanders," Joseph told TVNZ's One Sport.

"I've got a job at hand here.

"I've got a Rebels game I've got to win. I've got the loyal Otago public here, loyal Invercargill public here, that want to see a successful Highlanders team."

Wales boss Warren Gatland is involved in the recruiting process for the Cardiff position and according to reports the chances are good that a New Zealander will replace Davies.

The All Blacks' World Cup winning coach Sir Graham Henry and Robbie Deans were named as possible targets, early on, while Auckland coach Wayne Pivac and the Hurricanes' Mark Hammett have also been mentioned.

  • Cardiff Blues Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
LV= Cup
Friday , November 7
Newcastle vs Cardiff Blues20:00
Friday , November 14
Cardiff Blues vs Scarlets19:30
More LV= Cup fixtures
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , November 1
Cardiff Blues vs MunsterCardiff Blues vs Munster Preview
Sunday , November 23
Edinburgh vs Cardiff Blues16:00
Friday , November 28
Cardiff Blues vs Benetton Treviso19:35
Friday , December 19
Cardiff Blues vs Scarlets19:35
Friday , December 26
Cardiff Blues vs Newport Gwent D'gons14:05
Saturday , January 10
Cardiff Blues vs Leinster14:40
Wednesday, January 14
Munster vs Cardiff BluesTBC
More Guinness PRO12 fixtures
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Saturday , December 6
Cardiff Blues vs London IrishTBC
More European Rugby Challenge Cup fixtures
  • Cardiff Blues Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Saturday , October 25
Rovigo 18 - 33 Cardiff Blues
Saturday , October 18
Cardiff Blues 37 - 14 Grenoble
More European Rugby Challenge Cup results
Guinness PRO12
Sunday , October 12
Ospreys 26 - 15 Cardiff BluesOspreys vs Cardiff Blues Report
Friday , October 3
Connacht 24 - 24 Cardiff Blues
Friday , September 26
Leinster 37 - 23 Cardiff Blues
Friday , September 19
Cardiff Blues 9 - 26 Ulster
Sunday , September 14
Cardiff Blues 12 - 33 Glasgow
More Guinness PRO12 results
  • Table
Group B
LV= Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Exeter414
2Sale Sharks412
3Cardiff Blues410
4Leicester Tigers49