Planet Rugby

Cardiff Blues

Cardiff Blues

Rees set for post-cancer return

25th March 2014 16:21

Share:

Matthew Rees

Comeback: Matthew Rees

Cardiff Blues skipper Matthew Rees is poised to make his first appearance after being given the all-clear for testicular cancer.

The 33-year-old underwent treatment for the disease during 2013, but announced he had been cleared and returned to training some six weeks ago.

Now it appears the club captain will make his comeback at the Arms Park against Ulster this Saturday, with WalesOnline reporting the hooker has been named amongst the substitutes for the PRO12 clash.

"It is a massive weight off my shoulders and while there has always been light at the end of the tunnel for me during difficult times this is the news I always wanted to hear," said Rees during February in the wake of his return to training.

"Now I've been given the all clear I can concentrate on getting back to match fitness and hopefully I can play a part towards the end of this season for the Blues.

"I've been truly overwhelmed by the good luck messages I have received from the rugby world and the fantastic support I've had from my friends, family, my team-mates and staff at Cardiff Blues and the WRU throughout my treatment. It has meant a huge amount to me."

  • Cardiff Blues Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
LV= Cup
Saturday , November 1
Cardiff Blues vs Scarlets15:00
Saturday , November 8
Newcastle vs Cardiff Blues15:00
More LV= Cup fixtures
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , November 1
Cardiff Blues vs Munster17:15
Sunday , November 23
Edinburgh vs Cardiff Blues16:00
Friday , November 28
Cardiff Blues vs Benetton Treviso19:35
Friday , December 19
Cardiff Blues vs Scarlets19:35
Friday , December 26
Cardiff Blues vs Newport Gwent D'gons14:05
Saturday , January 10
Cardiff Blues vs Leinster14:40
Wednesday, January 14
Munster vs Cardiff BluesTBC
More Guinness PRO12 fixtures
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Saturday , October 25
Rovigo vs Cardiff Blues14:00
More European Rugby Challenge Cup fixtures
  • Cardiff Blues Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Saturday , October 18
Cardiff Blues 37 - 14 Grenoble
More European Rugby Challenge Cup results
Guinness PRO12
Sunday , October 12
Ospreys 26 - 15 Cardiff BluesOspreys vs Cardiff Blues Report
Friday , October 3
Connacht 24 - 24 Cardiff Blues
Friday , September 26
Leinster 37 - 23 Cardiff Blues
Friday , September 19
Cardiff Blues 9 - 26 Ulster
Sunday , September 14
Cardiff Blues 12 - 33 Glasgow
Sunday , September 7
Zebre 26 - 41 Cardiff Blues
More Guinness PRO12 results
  • Table
Group B
LV= Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Exeter414
2Sale Sharks412
3Cardiff Blues410
4Leicester Tigers49