Planet Rugby

Sharks

Sharks

SANZAR concede Reinach try error

17th February 2014 11:28

Share:

COBUS REINACH SHARKS SUPER RUGBY

Try time: Cobus Reinach

SANZAR referees boss Lyndon Bray admits Cobus Reinach's try for the Sharks was awarded erroneously by the match officials.

Reinach scored as the Sharks brushed the Bulls aside 31-16 on the opening day of the Super Rugby season, after the incident had been referred to TMO Deon van Blommenstein.

Multiple replays appeared to show Sharks second-row Anton Bresler knock the ball forward, and Bray disagreed with the TMO's appraisal that Bresler had not played opponent Paul Willemse in the air.

"We unfortunately got the TMO decision wrong," said Bray.

"The Sharks forward did knock the ball forward out of the Bulls player's hands. Also, there was consideration to the fact that the Sharks player obstructed the Bulls player in the air.

"Deon has accepted that the right decision should have been a knock on and scrum to the Bulls."

  • Sharks Fixtures
  • Table
South African Conference
Super Rugby Table
PosTeamPPts
1Sharks831
2Bulls919
3Lions916
4Stormers810
5Cheetahs99