Planet Rugby



Lions change six for Bulls

28th May 2014 11:53


johan ackermann lions

Johan Ackermann: Picked a new front row

Lions boss Johan Ackermann has made six changes to his starting XV for Saturday's clash with the Bulls in Johannesburg.

In the forwards, Ackermann has made wholesale changes to the front-row. Schalk van der Merwe, Robbie Coetzee and Julian Redelinghuys will all start.

They come into the run-on ride at the expense of Corne Fourie, Armand van der Merwe and Ruan Dreyer, who started in last weekend's loss to the Western Force in Perth.

Meanwhile, in the back-line, Chrysander Botha will start at left wing, where he replaces Anthony Volmink while Stokkies Hanekom replaces Deon van Rensburg at outside centre.

Courtnall Skosan will fill the right wing berth, having recovered from injury. He takes over from JW Jonker.

Lions: 15 Coenie van Wyk, 14 Courtnall Skosan, 13 Stokkies Hanekom, 12 Alwyn Hollenbach, 11 Chrysander Botha, 10 Marnitz Boshoff, 9 Ross Cronje, 8 Warren Whiteley (c), 7 Warwick Tecklenburg, 6 Jaco Kriel, 5 Franco Mostert, 4 Rudi Mathee, 3 Julian Redelinghuys, 2 Robbie Coetzee, 1 Schalk van der Merwe.
Replacements: 16 Armand van der Merwe, 17 Corne Fourie, 18 Ruan Dreyer, 19 Willie Britz, 20 Derick Minnie, 21 Faf de Klerk, 22 Elton Jantjies, 23 Deon van Rensburg.

Date: Saturday, May 31
Venue: Ellis Park, Johannesburg
Kick-off: 17.05 local (15.05 GMT, 16.05 BST)
Referee: Craig Joubert (South Africa)
Assistant referees: Lourens van der Merwe (South Africa), Sieg van Staden (South Africa)
Television match official: Marius Jonker (South Africa)

  • Lions Fixtures
  • Table
South African Conference
Super Rugby Table