Planet Rugby



Lions chop and change for Force

22nd May 2014 08:28



Johan Ackermann: Has wielded the axe

Lions head coach Johan Ackermann has rung the changes to his starting XV for Saturday's clash with the Western Force in Perth.

In the forwards, Ackermann has made six changes, which includes a new front row. Corne Fourie, Armand van der Merwe and Ruan Dreyer all move into the starting front row berths, with Rudi Mathee and Franco Mostert the selections at lock.

Warwick Tecklenburg is also promoted from the bench and joins Warren Whiteley and Jaco Kriel - who are the only survivors in the pack from Sunday's defeat to the Waratahs - in the back row.

Meanwhile, in the back-line, Ross Cronje will start at scrum-half and Anthony Volmink comes into the starting XV at left wing. Alwyn Hollenbach has been drafted in at inside centre while Deon van Rensburg will cover the outside centre berth. Coenie van Wyk will run out at full-back.

Lions: 15 Coenie van Wyk, 14 JW Jonker, 13 Deon van Rensburg, 12 Alwyn Hollenbach, 11 Anthony Volmink, 10 Marnitz Boshoff, 9 Ross Cronje, 8 Warren Whiteley (c), 7 Warwick Tecklenburg, 6 Jaco Kriel, 5 Franco Mostert, 4 Rudi Mathee, 3 Ruan Dreyer, 2 Armand van der Merwe, 1 Corne Fourie.
Replacements: 16 Robbie Coetzee, 17 Jacques van Rooyen, 18 Julian Redelinghuys, 19 Willie Britz, 20 Stephan de Wit, 21 Faf de Klerk, 22 Elton Jantjies, 23 Stefan Watermeyer.

Date: Saturday, 24 May
Venue: nib Stadium, Perth
Kickoff: 19:40 (local, 09:40 GMT)
Referee: Steve Walsh (Australia)
Assistant Referees: James Leckie (Australia), Ian Smith (Australia)
TMO: Peter Marshall (Australia)

  • Lions Fixtures
  • Table
South African Conference
Super Rugby Table