Planet Rugby



Lions change four for Chiefs

30th April 2014 07:45


Elton Jantjies Lions v Reds SR 2012

Back at 10: Elton Jantjies

Lions head coach Johan Ackermann has made four changes to his starting XV to take on the Chiefs in Hamilton on Saturday.

In the forwards there is just one change to the team which went down to the Stormers in Cape Town a fortnight ago. Warren Whiteley has made a full recovery from injury and will start at number eight. He will also captain the side.

Meanwhile, in the back-line, Faf de Klerk has reclaimed his spot in the run-on side. Elton Jantjies will start at fly-half and Deon van Rensburg will return in the wing position, having recovered from his minor injury.

On the bench, Armand van der Merwe looks set to make his Super Rugby debut should he get a run on Saturday. Jacques van Rooyen will also provide cover off the bench, having been called up from the Vodacom Cup squad.

Due to De Klerk and Jantjies earning starting positions, Ross Cronje and Marnitz Boshoff are the other changes amongst the replacements.

Lions: 15 Chrysander Botha, 14 Deon van Rensburg, 13 Lionel Mapoe, 12 Stefan Watermeyer, 11 Courtnall Skosan , 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Faf de Klerk, 8 Warren Whiteley (c), 7 Derick Minnie, 6 Jaco Kriel, 5 Franco Mostert, 4 Martin Muller, 3 Julian Redelinghuys, 2 Robbie Coetzee, 1 Schalk van der Merwe.
Replacements: 16 Armand van der Merwe, 17 Jacques van Rooyen, 18 Ruan Dreyer, 19 MB Lusaseni, 20 Willie Britz, 21 Ross Cronje, 22 Marnitz Boshoff, 23 JW Jonker.

Date: Saturday, May 3
Venue: Waikato Stadium, Hamilton
Kick-off: 19:35 (local, 07:35 GMT)
Referee: Chris Pollock (New Zealand)
Assistant Referees: Mike Fraser (New Zealand), Mike Lash (New Zealand)
TMO: Ben Skeen (New Zealand)

  • Lions Fixtures
  • Table
South African Conference
Super Rugby Table