Planet Rugby

Saracens

Saracens

Tomkins reveals why he left

20th June 2014 07:44

Share:

RUGBY RUGBY UNION AVIVA PREMIERSHIP RUGBY UNION TOURNAMENT JOEL TOMKINS2

Loves Wigan: Joel Tomkins

Former England and Saracens outside centre Joel Tomkins admits his love for Wigan Warriors was the reason why he chose to move back to league.

The 27-year-old, whose decision was announced on Wednesday, was given a warm welcome by his local fans and said it was "really humbling".

"I love this club and it's for that reason I have come back," he told BBC Radio Manchester.

"The reception from the supporters was overwhelming and really humbling to be welcomed back in such a fashion."

Tomkins has inked a contract that runs until 2018 and stressed his thanks to the Super League side for bringing him back to the north-west outfit.

"I am really grateful for the club for giving me this opportunity and it is up to me now to pay them back with some good performances," he added.

"I am am just excited to be back and get stuck into training. I had to keep it secret for a few days now, so that's been difficult.

"I am ready to get into it and looking forward to playing out here again."

Wigan chairman Ian Lenagan added: "Joel Tomkins is very significant for us because he loves playing for Wigan.

"He has come back after three years a better player and has been an England rugby union international, as well as England rugby league international.

"But it is the fact that Wigan has come to Wigan, that's the nice thing about it."

  • Saracens Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , November 29
Exeter vs Saracens16:30
Saturday , December 20
Saracens vs London Welsh15:00
Saturday , December 27
Newcastle vs Saracens15:00
Saturday , January 3
Saracens vs London Irish15:00
Saturday , January 10
Gloucester vs Saracens15:00
Sunday , February 15
Saracens vs Bath15:00
Saturday , February 21
Sale vs Saracens14:00
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , December 6
Sale vs Saracens13:00
Saturday , December 13
Saracens vs Sale17:15
Saturday , January 17
Saracens vs MunsterTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
  • Saracens Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Sunday , November 23
Saracens 24 - 31 NorthamptonSaracens vs Northampton Report
Sunday , November 16
Leicester Tigers 21 - 21 SaracensLeicester Tigers vs Saracens Report
More Aviva Premiership results
LV= Cup
Friday , November 7
Ospreys 9 - 21 Saracens
Sunday , November 2
Saracens 25 - 20 Harlequins
More LV= Cup results
European Rugby Champions Cup
Friday , October 24
Munster 14 - 3 Saracens
Saturday , October 18
Saracens 30 - 23 Clermont Auvergne
More European Rugby Champions Cup results
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , October 11
Saracens 28 - 21 Gloucester
More Aviva Premiership results
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
2Exeter828
3Bath828
4Saracens825
5Leicester Tigers821
6Wasps820