Planet Rugby

Saracens

Saracens

Borthwick to coach Japan forwards

26th May 2014 11:43

Share:

Steve Borthwick Saracens 2013

Coaching role: Steve Borthwick

Retiring Saracens captain Steve Borthwick will take up a coaching role with the Japan it has been confirmed.

The Saracens lock forward will link-up with former Saracens director of rugby Eddie Jones as the Cherry Blossoms forwards coach after he retires from playing at the end of the Premiership season.

On adding the all-time Premiership appearance record holder to their coaching team a Japan Rugby spokesman said: "Steve Borthwick, who will be joining our Japan Team has supported us over the past two years as a spot coach.

Steve's lineout expertise has made a significant improvement in helping us win more line-outs.

"Being a former captain of England, Steve has a good character and has great trust from the players. On the road to the World Cup, forwards will be the key to a successful campaign and we believe Steve as a Forward Coach will play a vital role."

  • Saracens Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Sunday , November 16
Leicester vs Saracens13:00
Sunday , November 23
Saracens vs Northampton13:00
Saturday , November 29
Exeter vs Saracens16:30
Saturday , December 20
Saracens vs London Welsh15:00
Saturday , December 27
Newcastle vs Saracens15:00
Saturday , January 3
Saracens vs London Irish15:00
Saturday , January 10
Gloucester vs Saracens15:00
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , December 6
Sale vs Saracens13:00
Saturday , December 13
Saracens vs Sale17:15
Saturday , January 17
Saracens vs MunsterTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
  • Saracens Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Friday , October 24
Munster 14 - 3 SaracensMunster vs Saracens Report
Saturday , October 18
Saracens 30 - 23 Clermont AuvergneSaracens vs Clermont Auvergne Report
More European Rugby Champions Cup results
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , October 11
Saracens 28 - 21 GloucesterSaracens vs Gloucester Report
Friday , October 3
Bath 21 - 11 Saracens
Saturday , September 27
Saracens 40 - 19 Sale Sharks
Saturday , September 20
London Irish 32 - 36 Saracens
Friday , September 12
Harlequins 0 - 39 Saracens
Saturday , September 6
Saracens 34 - 28 Wasps
More Aviva Premiership results
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
1Northampton625
2Saracens622
3Exeter620
4Bath620
5Wasps615