Planet Rugby

Saracens

Saracens

Sarries sweat on Vunipola, Farrell

26th May 2014 08:28

Share:

Mako Vunipola Sarries training 2014

Mako Vunipola: Could miss England's trip to New Zealand

Saracens front-row Mako Vunipola and fly-half Owen Farrell are doubtful for Saturday's Premiership final against Northampton at Twickenham.

The England duo sustained the injuries during Saturday's Heineken Cup Final defeat to Toulon at the Millennium Stadium in Cardiff.

Vunipola suffered a knee injury and Farrell sustained a knock to his knee after tripping over some television wiring in the warm-up.

"We have some concerns over Mako and potentially Owen," Saracens boss Mark McCall told the BBC.

"Owen has a small ankle injury which he picked up in the warm-up after he tripped over a wire, which is quite disappointing. We'll see how he is. Mako is the big concern for us."

The news will also be a concern for England head coach Stuart Lancaster ahead of next month's three-Test tour to New Zealand.

Vunipola's injury appears to be the more serious of the two as he could miss the entire tour.

Farrell is doubtful for the Premiership Final and could also miss England's first Test against New Zealand in Auckland on June 7.

When asked if Vunipola would be fit for England's tour, McCall replied: "Potentially but we don't know yet, it's very early to tell. I think Owen's injury is less severe than Mako's."

  • Saracens Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Sunday , November 16
Leicester vs Saracens13:00
Sunday , November 23
Saracens vs Northampton13:00
Saturday , November 29
Exeter vs Saracens16:30
Saturday , December 20
Saracens vs London Welsh15:00
Saturday , December 27
Newcastle vs Saracens15:00
Saturday , January 3
Saracens vs London Irish15:00
Saturday , January 10
Gloucester vs Saracens15:00
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , December 6
Sale vs Saracens13:00
Saturday , December 13
Saracens vs Sale17:15
Saturday , January 17
Saracens vs MunsterTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
  • Saracens Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Friday , October 24
Munster 14 - 3 SaracensMunster vs Saracens Report
Saturday , October 18
Saracens 30 - 23 Clermont AuvergneSaracens vs Clermont Auvergne Report
More European Rugby Champions Cup results
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , October 11
Saracens 28 - 21 GloucesterSaracens vs Gloucester Report
Friday , October 3
Bath 21 - 11 Saracens
Saturday , September 27
Saracens 40 - 19 Sale Sharks
Saturday , September 20
London Irish 32 - 36 Saracens
Friday , September 12
Harlequins 0 - 39 Saracens
More Aviva Premiership results
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
1Northampton625
2Saracens622
3Exeter620
4Bath620
5Wasps615