Planet Rugby

Saracens

Saracens

Sarries will go all-out - Vunipola

20th May 2014 14:10

Share:

RUGBY RUGBY UNION BILLY VUNIPOLA

Determined: Billy Vunipola

Powerhouse Saracens number eight Billy Vunipola says his side will slam the pedal to the metal in Saturday's Heineken Cup final.

Sarries, who romped to the top of the Premiership table this season, must beat rivals Northampton Saints in the domestic showpiece a week after taking on Toulon for the European crown in Cardiff.

But the barnstorming England back-row says the double-contenders cannot leave anything in the tank if they are to overcome the French giants, despite the huge occasion looming on the horizon at Twickenham.

"We have to go after it: if we take our foot off the gas we are destined to fail, so that is how we have to approach it," said Vunipola, after Saracens saw off Harlequins in their domestic semi-final at the weekend.

"It is two more weeks and they are tough games but we have to attack it or we will get hurt.

"I think we have the gas in the tank to handle it. We are fit players and we have great coaches. We do not like to talk about ourselves too much but we have the firepower to do it...and we have the coaches to come up with plans that can turn these two teams over.

"Toulon are a very good team, they have superstars littered throughout their line-up but they still play as a team. They are similar to us, they suffocate teams - they did it to Munster and they did it to Racing. I keep going back to it, I have confidence our coaches have a plan to deal with them and hopefully we can get over the line."

  • Saracens Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Sunday , November 16
Leicester vs Saracens13:00
Sunday , November 23
Saracens vs Northampton13:00
Saturday , November 29
Exeter vs Saracens16:30
Saturday , December 20
Saracens vs London Welsh15:00
Saturday , December 27
Newcastle vs Saracens15:00
Saturday , January 3
Saracens vs London Irish15:00
Saturday , January 10
Gloucester vs Saracens15:00
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , December 6
Sale vs Saracens13:00
Saturday , December 13
Saracens vs Sale17:15
Saturday , January 17
Saracens vs MunsterTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
  • Saracens Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Friday , October 24
Munster 14 - 3 SaracensMunster vs Saracens Report
Saturday , October 18
Saracens 30 - 23 Clermont AuvergneSaracens vs Clermont Auvergne Report
More European Rugby Champions Cup results
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , October 11
Saracens 28 - 21 GloucesterSaracens vs Gloucester Report
Friday , October 3
Bath 21 - 11 Saracens
Saturday , September 27
Saracens 40 - 19 Sale Sharks
Saturday , September 20
London Irish 32 - 36 Saracens
Friday , September 12
Harlequins 0 - 39 Saracens
Saturday , September 6
Saracens 34 - 28 Wasps
More Aviva Premiership results
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
1Northampton625
2Saracens622
3Exeter620
4Bath620
5Wasps615