Planet Rugby

Saracens

Saracens

Ashton warned over future conduct

19th May 2014 12:17

Share:

Chris Ashton Saracens

Free to play: Chris Ashton

Saracens and England winger Chris Ashton will not be punished for heckling Harlequins fly-half Nick Evans during a conversion attempt.

Ashton shouted "push it" at Evans whilst charging down the conversion of Mike Brown's try during the semi-final win over Harlequins on Saturday.

There had been speculation that Ashton would receive a ban, ruling him out of the Heineken Cup Final this weekend and possibly the Premiership Final on May 31 as well.

But the England international has avoided a ban, although he has been warned about his responsibilities and future actions.

"The RFU has reviewed an incident involving Saracens winger Chris Ashton just before halftime in the Aviva Premiership semi-final against Harlequins when he shouted "push-it" to Nick Evans as he was taking a conversion," said an RFU statement.

"Respect is one of the Core Values of Rugby Union and the RFU Head of Discipline, Gerard McEvilly, has this morning spoken to Chris about the incident, his responsibilities towards the game and his future conduct. The RFU will follow up the matter in writing."

  • Saracens Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Sunday , November 16
Leicester vs Saracens13:00
Sunday , November 23
Saracens vs Northampton13:00
Saturday , November 29
Exeter vs Saracens16:30
Saturday , December 20
Saracens vs London Welsh15:00
Saturday , December 27
Newcastle vs Saracens15:00
Saturday , January 3
Saracens vs London Irish15:00
Saturday , January 10
Gloucester vs Saracens15:00
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , December 6
Sale vs Saracens13:00
Saturday , December 13
Saracens vs Sale17:15
Saturday , January 17
Saracens vs MunsterTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
  • Saracens Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Friday , October 24
Munster 14 - 3 SaracensMunster vs Saracens Report
Saturday , October 18
Saracens 30 - 23 Clermont AuvergneSaracens vs Clermont Auvergne Report
More European Rugby Champions Cup results
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , October 11
Saracens 28 - 21 GloucesterSaracens vs Gloucester Report
Friday , October 3
Bath 21 - 11 Saracens
Saturday , September 27
Saracens 40 - 19 Sale Sharks
Saturday , September 20
London Irish 32 - 36 Saracens
Friday , September 12
Harlequins 0 - 39 Saracens
More Aviva Premiership results
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
1Northampton625
2Saracens622
3Exeter620
4Bath620
5Wasps615